Skip to main content


Death of a Messenger (Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery #3)

Robert McCaw

Hardcover

List Price: 26.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Journey deep into the exotic locales of Hawaii’s Big Island to discover its language, culture—and crime

On Hawaii Island, an anonymous 911 caller reports a body at Pohakuloa, the Army’s live-fire training area. Hilo Chief Detective Koa Kane, a cop with his own secret criminal past, finds a mutilated corpse—bearing all the hallmarks of ancient ritual sacrifice.

He encounters a host of obstacles as he pursues the murderer—an incompetent local medical examiner, hostility from both haoles (Westerners) and sovereignty advocates, and a myriad of lies. Koa races to discover whether the victim stumbled upon a gang of high-tech archaeological thieves, or learned a secret so shocking it cost him his life and put others in mortal danger.

Will Hilo’s most respected detective stop this sadistic fiend—or will the Pohakuloa killer strike again, with even deadlier consequences?

Perfect for fans of Michael Connelly and James Lee Burke



Praise For Death of a Messenger (Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery #3)

Praise for the Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery Series

“[Off the Grid] sizzles with tension and twists that entertain and magnetize. Danger and drama abide, with a wonderful, devil-may-care hero. Robert McCaw has the touch.” —Steve Berry, New York Times best-selling author

“In Off the Grid, Robert McCaw has fashioned the year's most original mystery-thriller set, appropriately enough, in the equally original setting of Hawaii . . . a relentlessly riveting tale that races out of the gate and never lets up for a single minute or page.” —Jon Land, USA Today best-selling author

“Moves with volcanic force to a heartfelt, gripping conclusion.” —Rick Mofina, USA Today best-selling author

". . .interesting local details and a crackling pace." —Kirkus Reviews

Fire and Vengeanceis a meticulous mystery. In [this] winding thriller, a conflicted cop wrangles a conspiracy and a family emergency.” —Foreword Reviews

“Readers who crave watching a smart cop work in a crackerjack police procedural will find a beauty here. Want a good espionage adventure? It's here, too, with intrigue, betrayal, assassination.” —Booklist (Starred Review)

Off the Grid is flush with action and vivid descriptions. This unputdownable book is sure to make a mark in the literary world.” —New York Journal of Books

“Readers who love a complex hard-boiled detective with flaws and secrets, and depictions of Hawaii’s culture and beauty, will be drawn to Koa Kane and the mosaic richness of an American paradise.” —BookTrib

Oceanview Publishing, 9781608094035, 352pp.

Publication Date: January 5, 2021



About the Author

Robert McCaw grew up in a military family, traveling the world. He is a graduate of Georgetown University, served as a U.S. Army lieutenant, and earned a law degree from the University of Virginia. He was a partner in a major international law firm in Washington, D.C. and New York City, representing major Wall Street clients in complex civil and criminal cases. Having lived on the Big Island of Hawaii, McCaw imbues his writing of the Islands with his more than 20-year love affair with this Pacific paradise. Death of a Messenger, a prequel, follows Fire and Vengeance and Off the Grid in McCaw’s Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery Series. He now lives in New York City with his wife, Calli.