Skip to main content
Cover for Treachery Times Two (Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery #4)

Treachery Times Two (Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery #4)

Robert McCaw

Hardcover

List Price: 27.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Secret military weapons, saboteurs, a volcanic eruption—and a probe of Chief Detective Koa Kane’s criminal past

On Hawaii Island, a volcanic earthquake disrupts an abandoned cemetery—unearthing the body of a woman mutilated by her killer to conceal her identity.

The search for her identity leads Hilo Hawaii’s Chief Detective Koa Kane to a mysterious defense contractor with a politically connected board of directors. Defying his chief of police, Koa pursues the killer, only to become entangled in an FBI espionage investigation of Deimos, a powerful secret military weapon. Is the FBI telling all it knows—or does it, too, have a duplicitous agenda?

At the same time, Koa—a cop who thirty years earlier killed his father’s nemesis and covered up the murder—faces exposure by the dead man’s grandson. Koa is forced to investigate his own homicide, and step by step, his cover-up unravels until another man is falsely accused.

Can Koa stand by and let an innocent man pay for his crime?

A crime novel perfect for fans of Michael Connelly and James Lee Burke

While all the novels in the Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery Series stand on their own and can be read in any order, the publication sequence is:

Death of a Messenger
Off the Grid
Fire and Vengeance
Treachery Times Two


Praise For Treachery Times Two (Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery #4)

Praise for the Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery Series

“[Off the Grid] sizzles with tension and twists that entertain and magnetize. Danger and drama abide, with a wonderful, devil-may-care hero. Robert McCaw has the touch.” —Steve Berry, New York Times best-selling author

 

“In Off the Grid, Robert McCaw has fashioned the year's most original mystery-thriller set, appropriately enough, in the equally original setting of Hawaii . . . a relentlessly riveting tale that races out of the gate and never lets up for a single minute or page.” —Jon Land, USA Today best-selling author

 

“Moves with volcanic force to a heartfelt, gripping conclusion.” —Rick Mofina, USA Today best-selling author

 

“. . . interesting local details and a crackling pace.” —Kirkus Reviews

 

Fire and Vengeance is a meticulous mystery. In [this] winding thriller, a conflicted cop wrangles a conspiracy and a family emergency.” —Foreword Reviews
 

“Readers who crave watching a smart cop work in a crackerjack police procedural will find a beauty here. Want a good espionage adventure? It's here, too, with intrigue, betrayal, assassination.” —Booklist (Starred Review)

 

Off the Grid is flush with action and vivid descriptions. This unputdownable book is sure to make a mark in the literary world.” —New York Journal of Books

 

“Readers who love a complex hard-boiled detective with flaws and secrets, and depictions of Hawaii’s culture and beauty, will be drawn to Koa Kane and the mosaic richness of an American paradise.” —BookTrib
 

“With one deftly crafted cliffhanger of a plot twist after another, Death of a Messenger by mystery novelist Robert McCaw is an inherently riveting read from cover to cover.” —Midwest Book Review

Oceanview Publishing, 9781608094646, 352pp.

Publication Date: January 4, 2022



About the Author

Robert McCaw grew up in a military family, traveling the world. He is a graduate of Georgetown University, served as a U.S. Army lieutenant, and earned a law degree from the University of Virginia. He was a partner in a major international law firm in Washington, D.C. and New York City. Having lived on the Big Island of Hawaii, McCaw’s writing is imbued by his more than 20-year love affair with this Pacific paradise. He now lives in New York City with his wife, Calli. Treachery Times Two is the fourth in his Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery Series, following Death of a Messenger, Off the Grid, and Fire and Vengeance.