Evil Eye (Compact Disc)

Four Novellas of Love Gone Wrong

By Joyce Carol Oates, Luci Christian (Narrated by), Chris Patton (Narrated by)

HighBridge Audio, 9781611749601, 390pp.

Publication Date: September 3, 2013

List Price: 29.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Readers know that few authors are able to create an atmosphere of unease and terror as well as Oates, a fact confirmed by the four novellas presented here. In the title story, �Evil Eye,� a young woman has recently become the fourth wife of a highly demanding man. When his first wife comes to stay with them, she warns the new bride that her husband is insane, and that she must find a way to protect herself. In �So Near Anytime Always,� a fateful meeting in a library leads to a boy's obsessive interest in a teenage girl. In �The Execution,� spoiled college student Bart Hansen has forgotten to factor in one person in his plan to commit the perfect, brutal crime: his mother. And in �The Flatbed,� a beautiful young woman struggles with frigidity until a shocking act releases her.All the novellas in this collection revolve around the theme of love gone wrong-horribly, shockingly wrong.