Skip to main content


Let's Get Back to the Party

Zak Salih

Hardcover

List Price: 25.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Compact Disc (2/16/2021)
Paperback (2/1/2022)
MP3 CD (2/16/2021)
Compact Disc (2/16/2021)

Description

“A miracle of a book. A love letter to queer friendship and queer love . . . that also, in its sparkling prose and exquisite storytelling, announces the arrival of a major talent.” —Nick White, author of How to Survive a Summer and Sweet & Low

What Does It Mean to Be a Gay Man Today?


It’s just weeks after the historic Supreme Court marriage equality ruling, and all Sebastian Mote wants is to settle down. A high school art history teacher, newly single and desperately lonely, he envies his queer students their freedom to live openly the youth he lost to fear and shame.  

So when he runs into his childhood friend Oscar Burnham at a wedding in Washington, D.C., he can’t help but see it as a second chance. Now thirty-five, the men haven’t seen each other in a decade. But Oscar has no interest in their shared history. Instead, he’s outraged by what he sees as the death of gay culture: bars overrun with bachelorette parties; friends getting married, having babies.

While Oscar and Sebastian struggle to find their place in a rapidly changing world, each is drawn into a cross-generational friendship that treads the line between envy and obsession: Sebastian with one of his students and Oscar with an older icon of the AIDS era. And as they collide again and again, both men must come reckon not just with one another, but with themselves.

Rich with sharply drawn characters and contemporary detail, provocative, and emotionally profound, Let’s Get Back to the Party is sure to appeal to readers of Garth Greenwell, Alan Hollinghurst, Claire Messud, and Rebecca Makkai.


Praise For Let's Get Back to the Party

A LGTBQ Reads Most Anticipated Adult LGBTQIAP Fiction Selection

“An intimate saga that brims with necessary conversations about cultural identity."
O, The Oprah Magazine, "32 LGBTQ Books That Will Change the Literary Landscape in 2021"

"With gorgeous, searching prose, Zak Salih looks beyond the gay culture wars to find the fractured souls within—and locates something deep and true and universal. This exceptional debut signals the arrival of a compelling new voice in fiction."
—Louis Bayard, author of Courting Mr. Lincoln

“The shifting landscape for gay men in America animates Salih’s heartfelt debut . . . The party may be changing, but reasons for celebration remain, as evidenced by Salih’s passionate evocation.” 
Publishers Weekly

“An insightful examination of two of the many ways gay men present themselves in contemporary America.”
Kirkus Reviews

“A gorgeously written meditation on being a gay man in America now . . . Raw and captivating.”
BookPage

“Poignant and poetic . . . Readers will find a compelling exploration of the experiences of queer people from different generations as two modern-day gay men figure out whether they want to conform to traditional views of relationships and marriage or break free entirely.”
Booklist

“An insightful novel about what it means to be a gay man in a rapidly-changing America.”
Electric Literature, “27 Debuts to Look Forward To in the First Half of 2021” 

"Let's Get Back to the Party is a gorgeous, raw, tender, trenchant novel about men figuring out how to live. At once gimlet-eyed and generous to his wonderfully drawn characters—fallible, lovable, and endlessly real—Salih paints a vivid portrait of the paradoxes of queer life in contemporary America, his characters navigating love and friendship in communities shaped both by freedom and fear, and by trauma that is both collective and individual. This is a stellar debut from a huge talent."
Lydia Kiesling, author of The Golden State

"With an artist's eye for beauty and an art historian's for detail, Zak Salih excavates the lives of his characters and leaves no stone unturned to ask questions about what it means to be a queer individual, to be a queer community, to be queer alone and with others. Let's Get Back to the Party is a book for those of us who simultaneously adore and abhor the pains and ecstasies of social closeness—which is to say it's a book for us now, us all."
Matt Ortile, author of The Groom Will Keep His Name

"Let’s Get Back to the Party is a generous, incisive, richly drawn novel about our universal quest for connection across difference. Through brilliantly braided perspectives and a will-they/won’t-they/should-they love story that will keep you turning the pages, Salih’s strong debut captures the drama and wonder of our contemporary moment in a voice leavened with humor and heart."
John Glynn, author of Out East: Memoir of a Montauk Summer

Algonquin Books, 9781616209575, 288pp.

Publication Date: February 16, 2021



About the Author

Zak Salih lives in Washington, D.C. His writing has appeared in Crazyhorse, the Chattahoochee Review, the Millions, the Rumpus, and other publications. This is his first novel.