Bad Seeds (A PI Jade de Jong Novel #5) (Hardcover)

By Jassy Mackenzie

Soho Crime, 9781616957940, 368pp.

Publication Date: April 4, 2017

List Price: 25.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Relentless South African private investigator Jade de Jong tracks a saboteur in a race to prevent a nuclear disaster in Jassy Mackenzie’s new, pulse-pounding thriller.
 
Despite her checkered history with law enforcement, Johannesburg private investigator Jade de Jong is attempting to operate on the right side of the law, confining herself to low-profile cases. But her remarkably attractive new employer, Ryan Gillespie, has tasked her with finding a missing security official after a break-in at the nuclear energy plant he runs. The target of her search is Carlos Botha, a skilled operative and a threat to national security.

Jade traces Botha to a run-down suburb, but discovers she’s not the only one looking for him. Someone has put a hit out on Botha, and Jade forms an unlikely alliance with her mark in order to learn more. But how long can she keep up the facade of friendship before he realizes she’s been hired to track him?


About the Author

Jassy Mackenzie was born in Zimbabwe and moved to South Africa when she was eight years old. She is the author of four previous Jade de Jong novels, Random Violence, Stolen Lives, The Fallen, and Pale Horses, and collaborated with James Patterson on the New York Times bestselling BookShot thriller Private: Gold.


Praise For Bad Seeds (A PI Jade de Jong Novel #5)

Praise for Bad Seeds

"The world's worst nightmare—terrorists obtaining enough weapons-grade uranium for a bomb. And now they know where to get it. As frightening and believable as tomorrow's headlines.”
—Michael Stanley, author of the award-winning Detective Kubu series

"Timely and explosive."
—Mystery Scene Magazine

"[Mackenzie] channels the strengths of noir into an engaging examination of a country that is at the same time one of the most hopeful and most troubled in the world."
—Los Angeles Review of Books

"Beguilling."
—Toronto Star

"Oh, Jo’burg! Look out. PI Jade de Jong is on a case. She is as relentless and resilient as ever in this fifth outing. There is lots of kick-ass Millennial appeal here. Perfect for fans of J. D. Robb’s Eve Dallas and Cara Black’s Aimée Leduc."
Booklist, Starred Review

"Jade de Jong has squeaked through some scary situations, but her luck just might have run out in the explosive fifth outing for Mackenzie’s steely Johannesburg PI . . . A propulsive page-turner featuring distinctly South African characters and concerns."
Publishers Weekly

"Adrenaline-fueled action and enough twists and turns to keep even the most astute readers on their toes, this is a thriller with a heroine as forcefully engaging as the subject matter."
—Kirkus Reviews

"[Readers] who relish fast-paced thrillers with international locations will be captivated."
Library Journal

Praise for the Jade de Jong investigations

“Remarkable.”
The New York Times Book Review

“Mackenzie’s shrewd plotting is enlivened by her sharp eye for both Johannesburg’s high life and its desperate poverty.”
The Seattle Times

“A terrifying ride into a world of corporate greed, potential terrorism and the ways that South Africa’s future still resonates with its brutal past.”
Richmond Times-Dispatch

“Top-notch crime fiction . . . A terrific adventure with intrigue and a beautifully plotted mystery.”
Crimespree Magazine