Simon Thorn and the Wolf's Den (Hardcover)

By Aimée Carter

Bloomsbury USA Childrens, 9781619637047, 320pp.

Publication Date: February 2, 2016

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A thrilling debut in the tradition of Rick Riordan and Brandon Mull about a boy who discovers he's part of a secret race of animal shape shifters.

Twelve-year-old Simon Thorn's life has never been easy or normal, but things like being bullied at school and living in a cramped Manhattan apartment with his Uncle Darryl are nothing compared to his biggest secret: He can talk to animals.

But when his mom is suddenly kidnapped by a herd of rats, Simon finds out that he, his mom, and his uncle are all Animalgams--people born with the ability to change into an animal at will. In search of his mom, Simon discovers the Animalgam Academy based at the Central Park Zoo. There he learns about the fractured five kingdoms--Mammals, Birds, Insects, Reptiles, and Underwater--that make up this secret world . . . and realizes he may be the only one who can save it.

This action-packed page-turner is filled with themes of bravery, loyalty, and finding one-s true self, and is perfect for fans of the Spirit Animals and The School of Good and Evil series.



About the Author

Aimée Carter is a graduate of the University of Michigan and is the author of several young adult books, including The Goddess Test series and The Blackcoat Rebellion series.
www.aimeecarter.com



Praise For Simon Thorn and the Wolf's Den

"Readers of fantasy will savor this new series; the theme of good versus evil will satisfy those middle grade readers with an insatiable hunger for superhero kids . . . The dark, suspenseful plot will keep readers eager for sequels. Highly recommended." - School Library Connection

"Simon Thorn is a hero worthy of a young Harry Potter, and readers are bound to be delighted." —Booklist Online

"Carter unveils a magical world full of amazement and adventure . . . A thrill from start to finish, the book will have readers eager to return to the magical world of Simon Thorn." —Kirkus Reviews

"Unique . . . unpredictable and entertaining . . . likely to be popular with a whole zoo full of readers, and its ending leaves ample room for a sequel." —School Library Journal

"Torn loyalties, talking animals, and a cleverly re-imagined New York -- the twists and turns of Simon Thorn kept me on my toes and wanting more." —Jodi Lynn Anderson, New York Times bestselling author of TIGER LILY and the May Bird trilogy

“With this second installment, Carter has hit her stride. ” —Kirkus Reviews on CAPTIVE (THE BLACKCOAT REBELLION)

“The plot twists and turns, with red herrings and a dynamic pace that will keep readers guessing.” —School Library Journal on CAPTIVE (THE BLACKCOAT REBELLION)

“The tempo is brisk, the tension is deeply felt, the protagonist is a great reader's proxy, and the villains are smooth and terrifying. Kitty is a brash, imperfect hero, and readers will root for her every step of the way. . . . Actions and plot twists will keep readers satisfied and waiting for more in the series.” —School Library Journal on PAWN (THE BLACKCOAT REBELLION)

“Well-paced and readable.” —Publishers Weekly on PAWN (THE BLACKCOAT REBELLION)

“An engaging heroine to root for . . . and a page-turner full of twists and turns. Readers will look forward to the next book in the anticipated trilogy.” —Booklist on PAWN (THE BLACKCOAT REBELLION)

“A fresh take on the Greek myths adds sparkle to this romantic fable.” —Cassandra Clare, New York Times bestselling co-author of THE IRON TRIAL, on THE GODDESS TEST