Simon Thorn and the Viper's Pit (Paperback)

By Aimée Carter

Bloomsbury USA Childrens, 9781619637177, 304pp.

Publication Date: February 6, 2018

List Price: 7.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Simon Thorn has only recently discovered that he's an Animalgam, a member of a secret race of people who can shift into animals, and found a home where he truly belongs at the Animalgam academy. But not everything is as good as it seems. Simon's evil grandfather, Orion, is bent on taking over the entire animal kingdom, and to do so, he'll need to gather the pieces of a terrible weapon--one that could shred the very foundations of the Animalgams' world. . . unless Simon can gather the pieces first.

And that's not all. Orion has kidnapped Simon's mother, and if Simon has any hope of rescuing her, he'll need to head cross-country with his friends, battling rogue Animalgams and their own doubts along the way. With dangers around every corner, it will be harder and harder for Simon to keep Orion from succeeding in his plot before it's too late.

This exhilarating story is packed with action, adventure, and characters full of heart, making it perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Brandon Mull.



About the Author

Aimée Carter is the author of Simon Thorn and the Wolf's Den, Simon Thorn and the Viper's Pit, and Simon Thorn and the Shark's Cave, along with the two YA series The Blackcoat Rebellion and The Goddess Test, of which The Goddess Inheritance was a 2013 Cybils nominee. She started writing fan fiction at eleven, began her first original story four years later, and hasn't stopped writing since. Besides writing and reading, she enjoys seeing movies, playing with her puppies, and wrestling with the puzzles in the paper each morning. She lives in Novi, Michigan.

www.aimeecarter.com
@aimee_carter



Praise For Simon Thorn and the Viper's Pit

"In this sequel, Carter fleshes out the Animalgam world and strengthens secondary characters while delivering enough unpredictable and satisfying twists to ensure that it lives up to the first book's charm. A fan-pleasing sequel that will have readers anticipating the next installment." - Kirkus Reviews


"Simon is likable and brave, and his hesitance to lose the family he’s just gotten will endear him to middle-grade readers. Buy this and keep up with the series as it delves deeper into the enchanting world of Animalgams." - Booklist


"Torn loyalties, talking animals, and a cleverly re-imagined New York -- the twists and turns of Simon Thorn kept me on my toes and wanting more." - Jodi Lynn Anderson, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of TIGER LILY and the May Bird trilogy


"Simon Thorn is a hero worthy of a young Harry Potter, and readers are bound to be delighted." - Booklist Online on SIMON THORN AND THE WOLF'S DEN


"Carter unveils a magical world full of amazement and adventure . . . A thrill from start to finish, the book will have readers eager to return to the magical world of Simon Thorn." - Kirkus Reviews on SIMON THORN AND THE WOLF'S DEN


"Unique . . . unpredictable and entertaining . . . likely to be popular with a whole zoo full of readers, and its ending leaves ample room for a sequel." - School Library Journal on SIMON THORN AND THE WOLF'S DEN