Simon Thorn and the Shark's Cave (Hardcover)

By Aimée Carter

Bloomsbury USA Childrens, 9781619637184, 288pp.

Publication Date: February 6, 2018

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

"Simon Thorn is a hero worthy of a young Harry Potter, and readers are bound to be delighted." --Booklist on Simon Thorn and the Wolf's Den

For fans of Rick Riordan and Spirit Animals, this thrilling follow-up to Simon Thorn and the Viper's Pit continues the adventures of a boy who can shapeshift into an animal.

Simon Thorn has only recently discovered that he's an Animalgam, a member of a secret race of people who can shift into animals, and found a home where he truly belongs. But not everything is as good as it seems. Simon's evil grandfather, Orion, is bent on taking over the entire animal kingdom, and to do so, he'll need to gather the pieces of a terrible weapon--one that could shred the very foundations of the Animalgams' world. . . unless Simon can gather the pieces first.

So when Simon's dolphin Animalgam friend Jam is summoned home to the underwater kingdom's headquarters, Avalon, Simon sees it as an opportunity to secure another piece. But as soon as he and his friends arrive in Avalon, their search is complicated by Jam's strict family--and a potential traitor. Can they locate the piece before it falls into Orion's hands and puts the entire underwater kingdom at risk?

With plenty of action and adventure and characters full of heart, this story is perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and the Spirit Animals series.

Don't miss the other books in the Simon Thorn series:
Simon Thorn and the Wolf's Den
Simon Thorn and the Viper's Pit
Simon Thorn and the Shark's Cave



About the Author

Aimée Carter is the author of the Simon Thorn series: Simon Thorn and the Wolf's Den, Simon Thorn and the Viper's Pit, and Simon Thorn and the Shark's Cave, along with the two YA series The Blackcoat Rebellion and The Goddess Test, of which The Goddess Inheritance was a Cybils nominee. She started writing fan fiction at eleven, began her first original story four years later, and hasn't stopped writing since. Besides writing and reading, she enjoys seeing movies, playing with her puppies, and wrestling with the puzzles in the paper each morning. She lives in Novi, Michigan.

www.aimeecarter.com
@aimee_carter



Praise For Simon Thorn and the Shark's Cave

"Torn loyalties, talking animals, and a cleverly re-imagined New York--the twists and turns of Simon Thorn kept me on my toes and wanting more." - Jodi Lynn Anderson, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of TIGER LILY and the May Bird trilogy


"In this sequel, Carter fleshes out the Animalgam world and strengthens secondary characters while delivering enough unpredictable and satisfying twists to ensure that it lives up to the first book's charm. A fan-pleasing sequel that will have readers anticipating the next installment." - Kirkus Reviews on SIMON THORN AND THE VIPER'S PIT


"Simon is likable and brave, and his hesitance to lose the family he’s just gotten will endear him to middle-grade readers. Buy this and keep up with the series as it delves deeper into the enchanting world of Animalgams." - Booklist on SIMON THORN AND THE VIPER'S PIT


"Simon Thorn is a hero worthy of a young Harry Potter, and readers are bound to be delighted." - Booklist Online on SIMON THORN AND THE WOLF'S DEN


"Carter unveils a magical world full of amazement and adventure . . . A thrill from start to finish, the book will have readers eager to return to the magical world of Simon Thorn." - Kirkus Reviews on SIMON THORN AND THE WOLF'S DEN


"Unique . . . unpredictable and entertaining . . . likely to be popular with a whole zoo full of readers, and its ending leaves ample room for a sequel." - School Library Journal on SIMON THORN AND THE WOLF'S DEN