The Fairy-Tale Matchmaker (Paperback)

By E. D. Baker

Bloomsbury USA Childrens, 9781619638006, 368pp.

Publication Date: October 6, 2015

List Price: 8.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Cory is a young tooth fairy in training who wants to be anything but that, except there's no way the Tooth Fairy Guild or her mother will let that happen. After yet another bad night on the job, Cory quits to explore other things--like babysitting an adventurous Humpty Dumpty, helping Suzy organize seashells by the seashore, and attempting to finally rid the spiders that plague Marjorie Muffet. But it isn't until Marjorie asks Cory to help set her up with a boy that Cory taps into a power s he never knew she had. As she tries to understand her new-found romantic visions, will Cory finally discover her own true path?

Just as she did with her Wide-Awake Princess series, E.D. Baker spins a tale that is poised to launch her to the top of the fairy tale canon with a new series perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine and Diana Wynne Jones.



About the Author

E. D. Baker is the author of The Tales of the Frog Princess series, including The Frog Princess, which was in part the inspiration for a new Disney movie which will be released this fall (The Princess and the Frog). Baker is also the author of Wings: A Fairy Tale. She lives with her family and many pets in Maryland. Visit www.edbakerbooks.com


Praise For The Fairy-Tale Matchmaker

“In this delightfully reimagined fairy tale world, Baker takes readers for a funny yet sweet ride through the challenging task of finding where one belongs… Radiates humor and creativity. It's thoroughly enjoyable in every way.” —School Library Journal

“In an engaging start to a new series, Baker creates a whole world with fairies, brownies, ogres, and more that is so accessible readers feel they could join it if only they could find the portal. Cory's struggles . . . will resonate with readers, especially fans of Jessica Day George and Gail Carson Levine.” —Booklist

“Loyal fans of Baker's other books will appreciate this lighthearted search for one's true self.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Baker's fans will easily relate to Cory's struggle to define her own path and identity.” —Publishers Weekly

“A fun romp through classic children's fractured fairy tales.” —Library Media Connection

“Annie is an enjoyable, independent, and undaunted character, who uses wits and skills rather than spells in her endeavors.” —Booklist on THE WIDE-AWAKE PRINCESS

“Humorous. . . . This fractured fairy tale will be enjoyed by readers who like adventure with a touch of romance.” —School Library Journal on THE WIDE-AWAKE PRINCESS

“Readers will delight in the twists the author makes to the familiar tales, seamlessly weaving them into the plot.” —Kirkus Reviews on UNLOCKING THE SPELL

“Slyly combines fairy-tale tropes. . . . The humor and relationships created by Baker are happily reminiscent of such classics as Howl's Moving Castle.” —Kirkus Reviews on A QUESTION OF MAGIC

“A lively fantasy. . . . Suspense, magic, romance, and humor.” —Booklist on A QUESTION OF MAGIC

“Baker continues to weave enchanting new stories out of fairy tale lore.” —Publishers Weekly on A QUESTION OF MAGIC