Sing a Rhythm, Dance a Blues (Hardcover)

Education for the Liberation of Black and Brown Girls

By Monique W. Morris

New Press, 9781620973998, 192pp.

Publication Date: August 27, 2019

List Price: 23.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A groundbreaking and visionary call to action on educating and supporting girls of color, from the highly acclaimed author of Pushout

"Monique Morris is a personal shero of mine and a respected expert in this space."
--Ayanna Pressley, U.S. congresswoman and the first woman of color elected to Boston's city council

Wise Black women have known for centuries that the blues have been a platform for truth-telling, an underground musical railroad to survival, and an essential form of resistance, healing, and learning. In her highly anticipated follow-up to the widely acclaimed Pushout on the criminalization of black girls in schools, Monique W. Morris invokes the spirit of the blues to articulate a radically healing and empowering pedagogy for Black and Brown girls.

A passionate manifesto that builds naturally on her previous book, Sing a Rhythm, Dance a Blues reimagines what education might look like if schools placed the flourishing of Black and Brown girls at their center. Grounding each chapter in interviews, case studies, and testimonies of educators who work successfully with girls of color, Morris blends research with real life to offer a radiant manifesto on moving away from punishment, trauma, and discrimination toward safety, justice, and genuine community in our schools.

In the tradition of For White Folks Who Teach in the Hood and Other People's Children, Morris's new book is a clarion call--for educators, parents, students, and anyone who has a stake in a better tomorrow--to transform schools into places where learning and collective healing can flourish.



About the Author

Monique W. Morris, co-founder of the National Black Women's Justice Institute, is the author of several books, including Pushout, and Black Stats. Her work has been featured by NPR, the New York Times, MSNBC, Essence, The Atlantic, the Washington Post, Education Week, and others. She lives in the Bay Area with her husband and two daughters.