Hippopotamister (Hardcover)

By John Patrick Green

First Second, 9781626722002, 96pp.

Publication Date: May 10, 2016

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

The zoo isn't what it used to be. It's run down, and Hippo hardly ever gets any visitors. So he decides to set off for the outside with his friend Red Panda. To make it in the human world, Hippo will have to become a Hippopotamister: he'll have to act like a human, get a job, and wear a hat as a disguise. He's a good employee, whether he's a construction worker, a hair stylist, or a sous chef. But what he really needs is a job where he can be himself.


About the Author

John Patrick Green has worked on comics for DC Comics, Nickelodeon, DreamWorks, and Scholastic Graphix. Kitten Construction Company: Meet the House Kittens is John's second graphic novel as writer and artist, following 2016's Hippopotamister, also published by First Second. John lives in Brooklyn with zero cats and way too many LEGOs.


Praise For Hippopotamister

Included in School Library Journal's "Best of 2016" list.

"Clever and fun!" —Raina Telgemeier, author of Smile

"Hip, hip, hooray for Hippopotomister!" —Lauren Castillo, author of Nana in the City

"Delightfully sweet. Three cheers for Hippopotamister!" —Jennifer & Matthew Holm, co-creators of Babymouse & Squish

"At it's core, Hippopotomister is a touching friendship tale in the tradition of Frog and Toad and Robot Dreams. But this book will also serve as the perfect roadway for those kids looking for a path from picture books to graphic novels." —Nick Bruel, creator of the Bad Kitty series

"Green’s (Teen Boat!) characters burst with personality, his comedic sense shines, and his visual storytelling skills are solid." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

"A charming book with a solid message about changing one's life through hard work, imagination, and openness to new experiences." —Kirkus Reviews

"A fun and engaging selection for readers just venturing into graphic novels." —School Library Journal