Dark Turns (Hardcover)

A Novel

By Cate Holahan

Crooked Lane Books, 9781629531939, 336pp.

Publication Date: November 10, 2015

List Price: 24.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Nia Washington is an incredibly talented ballerina. She fought her way up from the streets and was nearing the pinnacle of her profession when an injury and a broken heart derailed her career. Taking a temporary job at an elite boarding school was supposed to give her time to nurse both body and soul. It was supposed to be a safe place to launch a triumphant comeback. It is anything but.

Shortly after she arrives at the beautiful lakeside campus, she discovers the body of a murdered student, and her life takes a truly dark turn. It's not long before she is drawn into a dangerous game of cat-and-mouse with a ruthless killer. And Nia isn't the only target. She must use all of her street smarts to protect her dancers, save a wrongfully accused student, and rescue the man she loves.

A stunning and suspenseful tale of passion and betrayal, Cate Holahan's Dark Turns will take readers deep into the mind of a murderer and the woman who must put an end to the killing.


About the Author

Cate Holahan is an award-winning journalist and a former television producer. Her short fiction won first place in the 19th Annual Calliope competition. Cate currently lives in New Jersey with her husband and two children. This is her debut novel.


Praise For Dark Turns: A Novel

"Outstanding. An engrossing story line and cast of fully developed characters make this debut psychological thriller hard to put down."
Publishers Weekly starred review

"With protagonists so well drawn that readers will feel as if they know them intimately, this excellent mystery will appeal to fans of Gillian Roberts and Nicci French."
Library Journal starred review

"Carlisle brings...originality and spin to the proceedings...Gin is a strong protagonist, and readers will wonder what is in store for her next."
RT Book Reviews

"Anna Carlisle’s Dark Road Home grabbed me at the very beginning and never let go. It’s a tense, taut, gripping thriller about long buried secrets and the powerful hold the past has on all of us. You won’t be able to put it down, and the book’s final chapters will leave you shocked and satisfied. Don’t miss this great debut!"
—David Bell, bestselling author of Somebody I Used to Know

"Dark Road Home is a gripping, twisty journey into the past that surprised me at every turn. Gin is an appealing heroine and her family is dysfunctional enough to feel absolutely real. A very accomplished novel."
—Jane Casey, Mary Higgins Clark Award-winning author of the Maeve Kerrigan mysteries