A Child Lost (Paperback)

A Henrietta and Inspector Howard Novel

By Michelle Cox

She Writes Press, 9781631528361, 408pp.

Publication Date: April 28, 2020

List Price: 16.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A spiritualist, an insane asylum, a lost little girl . . .

When Clive, anxious to distract a depressed Henrietta, begs Sergeant Frank Davis for a case, he is assigned to investigating a seemingly boring affair: a spiritualist woman operating in an abandoned schoolhouse on the edge of town who is suspected of robbing people of their valuables. What begins as an open and shut case becomes more complicated, however, when Henrietta--much to Clive's dismay--begins to believe the spiritualist's strange ramblings.

Meanwhile, Elsie begs Clive and Henrietta to help her and the object of her budding love, Gunther, locate the whereabouts of one Liesel Klinkhammer, the German woman Gunther has traveled to America to find and the mother of the little girl, Anna, whom he has brought along with him. The search leads them to Dunning Asylum, where they discover some terrible truths about Liesel. When the child, Anna, is herself mistakenly admitted to the asylum after an epileptic fit, Clive and Henrietta return to Dunning to retrieve her. This time, however, Henrietta begins to suspect that something darker may be happening. When Clive doesn't believe her, she decides to take matters into her own hands . . . with horrifying results.


Praise For A Child Lost: A Henrietta and Inspector Howard Novel

Praise for A Child Lost:



“Once again, Cox delivers the passion and intrigue of Henrietta and Clive with a story that leaps right off the page. A Child Lost is a true thrill . . .”

—Paperback Paris



“...vivid descriptive prose and historical accuracy.”

Publishers Weekly



Praise for the Henrietta and Inspector Howard series:



Praise for A Veil Removed:



2019 Next Generation Indie Book Awards: Finalist in Romance



2019 Next Generation Indie Book Awards: Finalist in Series





“Entertaining . . . composed of large dollops of romance and a soupçon of mystery, this confection will appeal!"


Publishers Weekly





Praise for A Girl Like You:





“Michelle Cox masterfully recreates 1930s Chicago, bringing to life its diverse neighborhoods and eclectic residents, as well as its seedy side. Henrietta and Inspector Howard are the best pair of sleuths I’ve come across in ages—Cox makes us care not just about the case, but about her characters. A fantastic start to what is sure to be a long-running series.”


—Tasha Alexander, New York Times best-selling author of The Adventuress





“Fans of spunky, historical heroines will love Henrietta Von Harmon.”


Booklist starred review





“Flavored with 1930s slang and fashion, this first volume in what one hopes will be a long series is absorbing. Henrietta and Clive are a sexy, endearing, and downright fun pair of sleuths. Readers will not see the final twist coming.”


Library Journal starred review





Praise for A Ring of Truth:





“An engaging and effective romp rich with historical details.”


Kirkus Reviews





“There’s a lot to love about the bloodhound couple at the center of this cozy mystery.”


Foreword Reviews





“Set in the 1930s, this romantic mystery combines the teetering elegance of Downton Abbey and the staid traditions of Pride and Prejudice with a bit of spunk and determination that suggest Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs.”


Booklist





“The second book of this mystery series is laced with fiery romance so delicious every reader will struggle to put it down. If you devoured Pride and Prejudice, this love story will get your heart beating just as fast.”


Redbook, “20 Books By Women You Must Read This Spring”





“Henrietta and Inspector Howard make a charming odd couple in A Ring of Truth, mixing mystery and romance in a fizzy 1930s cocktail.”


—Hallie Ephron, New York Times bestselling author of Night Night, Sleep Tight





Praise for A Promise Given:





“Cox’s eye for historical detail remains sharp. . . . A pleasant, escapist diversion.”


Kirkus Reviews





“Series fans will cheer the beginning of Clive and Henrietta’s private investigation business in an entry with welcome echoes of Pride and Prejudice.”


Publishers Weekly





“Enjoyable, escapist read with some truths to savor.”


—Historical Novel Society





“Fans of Henrietta and Inspector Howard will delight in Michelle Cox’s latest novel. Romantic and atmospheric, A Promise Given offers an intriguing glimpse in 1930’s Chicago, by weaving in authentic period details and exploring the social tensions of the day. The unlikely pairing of the Howards—two characters from very different worlds—provides a tender love story.”


—Susanna Calkins, award-winning author of the Lucy Campion Historical Mysteries