Skip to main content
Cover for The Orphans of Mersea House

The Orphans of Mersea House

A Novel

Marty Wingate

Hardcover

List Price: 27.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (8/22/2023)
Compact Disc (8/9/2022)

Description

In the tradition of Kristin Harmel and Elise Hooper, USA Today bestseller Marty Wingate transports us to postwar England’s Suffolk coast in a rich historical drama about love lost—and promise found.

England, 1957. Olive Kersey’s only love never returned from World War II, and now, she’s alone and penniless. Then, the last person she ever expected to see again returns to Southwold. Olive’s childhood friend, Margery Paxton, arrives to claim her inheritance: Mersea House, a stately old home she plans to turn into the town’s only lodging. Olive’s life takes a sunny turn when Margery hires her to run the establishment. But Mersea House holds its own mysteries—and its own dangers.
 
First, rumors begin to fly when two enigmatic lodgers move in: Hugh Hodson, manager of the town cinema, and Mrs. Abigail Claypool, a recluse and war widow. And then, the completely unexpected: Margery is informed she has a new ward, eleven-year-old Juniper Wyckes, the orphaned daughter of Margery’s first love. Mrs. Lucie Pagett, Children’s Officer at the local authority, informs Margery that Juniper was severely stricken with polio as a child, and makes clear that she could be taken away if her welfare is in jeopardy.
 
But the past is never far behind for the inhabitants of Mersea House, and looming secrets may destroy these friendships they've created. 


Praise For The Orphans of Mersea House: A Novel

Praise for The Orphans of Mersea House:
“A moving look at a group of young women as they navigate life in postwar England . . . a nuanced look at a makeshift family.”
Publishers Weekly

“A quiet, beautifully told novel.”
San Francisco Book Review, 5-star review

“This is a beautifully written story that reminds us what it means to have friends and family, the importance of friendship, acceptance and the joy of being in love. A truly remarkable and enjoyable read, I would recommend this book to everyone!”
Red Pillows Review

Praise for Glamour Girls:
“[Wingate’s] command of WWII history and the uncelebrated roles of women is exemplary, and the emotional resonance makes this a deeply fulfilling read.”
Booklist, starred review

"The author manages to depict Rosalie’s friendships with fellow Attagirls and RAF pilots in a manner that is both realistic and touching."
Kirkus Reviews

“Glamour Girls is a heart-warming story of family, friendship, and romance...I highly recommend this for anyone looking for a new and unique perspective of WWII fiction.”
Girly Book Club

“A winner [featuring] a smart, strong female lead.”
Red Carpet Crash

"Tender and fierce, the book is always well-written and captures the spirit of the time." 
Manhattan Book Review

"A fascinating, well-researched look at the ATA and the “glamour girls” who helped win the war." 
Historical Novel Society

“Glamour Girls feels so real it’s like reading a personal diary of the brave women who were unsung heroes of WWII. Marty Wingate has managed to get the feel for wartime Britain spot on. Well done!”
—Rhys Bowen, New York Times bestselling author

"Marty Wingate delivers it all in Glamour Girls—wartime love, heartbreaking losses, endearing characters, fascinating period detail."
—Candace Robb, author of the Owen Archer historical mysteries
 
“Glamour Girls will take you on a fascinating journey into the lives of female pilots in WWII Britain. Blending female friendship with romance and loss, this is a vivid and heartfelt read!”
—Sara Ackerman, USA Today bestselling author of Red Sky Over Hawaii
 
“Fans of strong women defying the odds will love Wingate's novel of Englishwoman Rosalie Wright's struggle to become pilot during World War II—there's friendship, romance, adventure, and wonderful attention to period detail."
—Susan Elia MacNeal, New York Times bestselling author of the Maggie Hope series
 
“A wonderful, heart-warming tale of the women of the ATA. Be prepared to fall in love with some very special characters, and experience adventure, heartbreak and love with them, as they fulfil an incredibly important job during the war. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel.” 
—Soraya M. Lane, Amazon Charts bestselling author of Wives of War.

Alcove Press, 9781639100880, 288pp.

Publication Date: August 9, 2022



About the Author

USA Today best-selling author Marty Wingate writes mystery series and historical fiction set in England with the occasional foray into Scotland. The First Edition Library mysteries (Berkley), set in Bath, feature Hayley Burke, the curator of a collection of books from the Golden Age of Mystery. Murder is a Must, book two, will be released in the fall, 2020. Marty is also the author of the Potting Shed books (Alibi) with Pru Parke, a middle-aged American gardener transplanted from Texas to England, and the Birds of a Feather series (Alibi) with Julia Lanchester, bird lover, who runs a tourist office in a Suffolk village.

Marty and her husband live near Seattle, but she prefers on-the-ground research whenever possible, and so they travel regularly to England and Scotland. There, she can be found tracing the historical steps of her characters--including flying a Spitfire simulator and visiting World War Two airfields--followed by stopping for tea and a slice of Victoria sponge or enjoying a swift half in a pub.