Skip to main content
Cover for A Wealth of Deception (A Scandal Mountain Antiques Mystery #2)

A Wealth of Deception (A Scandal Mountain Antiques Mystery #2)

Trish Esden

Hardcover

List Price: 29.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Danger, art, and a touch of romance collide in Trish Esden’s second exquisitely crafted Scandal Mountain Antiques mystery, perfect for fans of Jane K. Cleland and Connie Berry.

Some people are willing to die for their art. Others are willing to kill for it.

When Vermont antique and art dealer Edie Brown discovers an unsettlingly dark collage by the famed reclusive “outsider” artist known only as Vespa, she opens a Pandora’s Box of deception and danger.

Edie teams up with Uncle Tuck and Kala to investigate the background of the collage, but only uncover secrets that are more disturbing than the artwork itself. As Edie tracks down the validity of the piece, she stumbles into an art underground where some people are willing to kill to keep their schemes a secret.  

Esden expertly crafts a complex cast of characters, a breathtakingly gorgeous setting, and a twisty plot that often poses more questions than answers.


Praise For A Wealth of Deception (A Scandal Mountain Antiques Mystery #2)

Praise for The Art of the Decoy:
“Captivating . . . rich historical and cultural background.”
Publishers Weekly

“Realistic and absorbing.” 
Midwest Book Review

“Sit back and prepare to lose yourself in this Northern Vermont wonderland filled with priceless folk art and people you want to know.”
—Jane K. Cleland, award-winning author of Jane Austen's Lost Letters, the 14th Josie Prescott Antiques Mystery

“All I can say is WOW! With this first novel in the Scandal Mountain Antiques Series, author Trish Esden has knocked it out of the park. With an evocative rural Vermont setting, an intriguing main character with a complicated past, an engaging cast of supporting characters, and a twisty plot that will keep you turning pages, The Art of the Decoy is as close to perfect as they get.”
—Connie Berry, award winning author of A Dream of Death

“A well-drawn Vermont setting, a satisfyingly deep dive into the art and antiques world, and an expert and tricky mystery make this a must-read debut for Esden's clever antiques dealer Edie Brown. Bring on Edie's next adventure!”
—Sarah Stewart Taylor, Vermont author of the Maggie D’arcy mystery series

“Highly recommended for readers who enjoy well-developed characters, sophisticated plotting, and a bit of edginess and adventure in their mysteries.”
—Victoria Gilbert, author of the Blue Ridge Library Mystery series and the Booklovers B&B mystery series

“With its tenacious and endearing female sleuth, a mystery that captivates, and a vibrant cast of suspects, The Art of the Decoy entices from the first page."
—Tessa Wegert, author of Death in the Family and The Dead Season

“With its likable characters, high stakes mystery, and immersive setting, The Art of the Decoy is a great start to a fresh new series.”
—Elizabeth Penney, author of the Cambridge Bookshop Series

“A thrilling, fast-paced mystery with memorable characters and as many twists and turns as the back-country roads of its rural Vermont setting."
—Hank Parker, author of CONTAINMENT: A Thriller

Crooked Lane Books, 9781639102549, 336pp.

Publication Date: April 18, 2023



About the Author

Trish Esden loves museums, gardens, wilderness, dogs and birds, in various order depending on the day. She lives in Northern Vermont where she deals antiques with her husband, a profession she’s been involved with since her teens. Don’t ask what her favorite type of antique is. She loves hunting down old bottles and rusty barn junk as much as she enjoys fine art and furnishings.