The Time Has Come (Hardcover)

Why Men Must Fight for Gender Equality

By Michael Kaufman

Counterpoint LLC, 9781640091191, 304pp.

Publication Date: January 8, 2019

List Price: 26.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

"Through personal stories, insights gleaned from decades of working to end gender-based violence, and practical advice for those men ready to step up to the plate, Kaufman has produced a special book. It will be an important guide to the many men now seeking ways to stop violence against women, to create a more nurturing and loving culture for all." --Judy Norsigian, co-creator, Our Bodies Ourselves

In the vein of Tim Wise's White Like Me and Sheryl Sandberg's Lean In, The Time Has Come offers a plain-spoken and forthright look at why and how men need to actively fight for gender equality. As the co-founder of the White Ribbon Campaign, the largest effort in the world of men seeking to end violence against women, Michael Kaufman is an authority on the subject of gender equality. His new book explores how a culture based in toxic masculinity hurts both women and men (and their children), how men can become better allies in smashing the patriarchy, and how real gender equality creates advancements in both the workplace and the global economy.