The Time Has Come (Hardcover)

Why Men Must Join the Gender Equality Revolution

By Michael Kaufman

Counterpoint LLC, 9781640091191, 224pp.

Publication Date: January 8, 2019

List Price: 26.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

"Through personal stories, insights gleaned from decades of working to end gender-based violence, and practical advice for those men ready to step up to the plate, Kaufman has produced a special book. It will be an important guide to the many men now seeking ways to stop violence against women, to create a more nurturing and loving culture for all." --Judy Norsigian, co-creator, Our Bodies Ourselves

In the vein of Tim Wise's White Like Me and Sheryl Sandberg's Lean In, The Time Has Come offers a plainspoken and forthright look at why and how men need to actively fight for gender equality. As the cofounder of the White Ribbon Campaign--the largest international coalition of men seeking to end violence against women--and recently named to Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau's G7 Gender Equality Advisory Council, Michael Kaufman is a global advocate for gender equality.
Kaufman's new book explores how a culture based in toxic masculinity hurts people (and their children), how men can become better allies in smashing the patriarchy, and how real gender equality creates advancements in both the workplace and the global economy.


About the Author

MICHAEL KAUFMAN, PhD has spent almost four decades engaging men to support gender equality in efforts to transform the lives of both women and men. He's the cofounder of the White Ribbon Campaign, the largest international effort of men working to end violence against women. As an advisor and speaker, he has worked across America and in fifty countries with the United Nations, governments, NGOs, and businesses. He grew up in Ohio and North Carolina and lives in Toronto, Canada. He is a senior fellow with Promundo, based in Washington D.C. Kaufman is the author or editor of eight books, including Theorizing Masculinities, Cracking the Armour: Power, Pain and the Lives of Men.