Skip to main content
Cover for Glad to Be Human

Glad to Be Human

Adventures in Optimism (Positive Thinking Book, for Fans of Learned Optimism, Anne Lamott, or Elizabeth Gilbert)

Irene O'Garden, Kristine Carlson (Foreword by)

Paperback

List Price: 16.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (8/2/2021)

Description

Celebrate Life's Simple Pleasures

I am changed by these now dog-eared pages, and I will return to them again and again for inspiration." --Annabel Monaghan, author of The Digit Series, columnist for The Week and The Huffington Post

In a world so often filled with distressing news and bewildering violence, being "human" often gets a bad rap. Rejoice in everyday reasons to smile with positive thoughts and enjoy the gift of life.

Take a walk on the bright side and celebrate life. In Glad to Be Human: Adventures in Optimism, award-winning writer Irene O'Garden reminds us of the radiance of human existence. From kitchens to gardens to busy city streets, all around, in your everyday life, you can find plenty of reasons to feel gratitude and hope and find joy.

It's the little things. In this collection of essays, O'Garden explores a wide range of practical reasons to celebrate life―just look closely around you. In one essay, she describes the simple pleasure that comes from clearing clutter off a desk―in another, the thrill of visiting the Statue of Liberty. The book's grand finale is the Pushcart Prize-winning essay, "Glad to Be Human."

One simple message. Through contemplation, meditation and with literary style, Glad to Be Human invites you to view life through a positive lens. From small, daily activities to journeys overseas, O'Garden has a knack for finding beauty and meaning in all life's adventures―even in our deepest pain and suffering―helping all of us feel glad to be human.

If you enjoy Anne Morrow Lindbergh and Anne Lamott, or books like Risking the Rapids, The Book of Joy, The Book of Delights, or The Gratitude Diaries, you'll love O'Garden's Glad to Be Human.

Tiny Press, 9781642502466, 236pp.

Publication Date: May 19, 2020