A Snapshot of Murder (Hardcover)

A Kate Shackleton Mystery

By Frances Brody

Crooked Lane Books, 9781643850962, 336pp.

Publication Date: April 9, 2019

Other Editions of This Title:
MP3 CD (10/29/2019)
Compact Disc (10/29/2019)
Library Binding, Large Print (12/25/2019)

List Price: 26.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Critically acclaimed author Frances Brody is back with the tenth installment in her Kate Shackleton series, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Nicola Upson.

Seven keen amateur photographers gather for the most popular openings of the decade. Only six will return.


Yorkshire, 1928. Indomitable sleuth Kate Shackleton is taking a well-deserved break from her detective work and indulging in her other passion: photography. When her local Photographic Society proposes an outing to the opening of the Bronte Museum, Kate jumps at the chance to visit the setting of Wuthering Heights. But the setting proves to be even more sinister than the dreary classic when a member of their party is found murdered.

The event is one of the most popular of the decade, and each of the seven photographers were there to capture the perfect shot of a lifetime. But Tobias, the deceased, was known for being loud-mouthed and didn’t care to curb his demeanor. Kate deduces that he must have had several enemies. But soon, she begins to suspect that perhaps the murderer is amongst them. And before they shrink to just a group of five, Kate must pick back up her magnifying glass and sleuthing cap to crack the case in A Snapshot of Murder, Frances Brody’s tenth brilliant Kate Shackleton mystery.


About the Author

Frances Brody lives in Leeds where she was born and grew up. After leaving school at 16, she worked and traveled, including a spell in New York. She then won a place at Ruskin College, Oxford, and afterwards studied at York University. Before creating the Kate Shackleton mysteries, Frances wrote historical sagas, winning the HarperCollins Elizabeth Elgin award for most regionally evocative debut saga of the millennium. When not writing or reading, Frances likes to test her less than brilliant map reading skills by walking in the Yorkshire Dales.


Praise For A Snapshot of Murder: A Kate Shackleton Mystery

Praise for A Snapshot of Murder:

“Absolutely captivating! With charm, skill, and spot-on insight, the talented Frances Brody expertly transports us to Yorkshire, 1928—and we are thrilled to be there. You’ll adore the wonderfully atmospheric dialogue and put Brody on your bookshelves with Bowen and Winspear.”
—Hank Phillippi Ryan, national bestselling author of Trust Me

“A strong historical-mystery series; perfect for fans of post-WWI detectives, including Maisie Dobbs and Bess Crawford.”
Booklist

“Well-crafted...The simmering tension gradually heats up to a rolling boil. Brody dresses this elegant mystery in literary history while accenting the cultural mores of the tumultuous 1920s. She also convincingly renders the secrets and vices of her well-rounded characters. An intelligent and complex woman, Kate is someone readers will want to see a lot more of.”
Publishers Weekly

“Brody’s writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive.”
—Ann Cleeves, award-winning author of the Vera Stanhope mysteries

“I lost a day’s work because of this novel. I couldn’t put it down. Kate Shackleton is a delightful heroine—smart, strong, and independent. Treat yourself to a trip back to 1920s Britain.”
—Elaine Viets, author of Ice Blonde

Praise for the Kate Shackleton mysteries:
“A delightful trip through time and space to 1920s England with a heroine who would make the ladies of the Golden Age proud.”
―Rhys Bowen, New York Times bestselling author of the Royal Spyness mysteries

“Frances Brody writes marvelous British mysteries.”
―Charles Todd, bestselling author of the Bess Crawford mysteries

“In Kate Shackleton, Frances Brody has created a smart and endearing sleuth whose resourcefulness and skill for deduction shine as she investigates murders in 1920s England. With vivid settings, colorful characters, and excellently-plotted mysteries, this series is an absolute delight!”
―Ashley Weaver, author of the Amory Ames mysteries

“Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine.”
—Ann Granger, author of the Ben Ross mysteries

“A mash-up of ‘Masterpiece’ series ‘Indian Summers’ and ‘Downtown Abbey.’”
New York Post on Murder on a Summer’s Day

“Brody expertly weaves historical details and social issues to capture the essence of the 1920s. Kate’s intelligence and curiosity make her an appealingly complex heroine. With a writing style and plotting reminiscent of golden age crime fiction, this is a good read-alike for fans of Jacqueline Winspear’s ‘Maisie Dobbs’’ mysteries, Charles Todd’s ‘Bess Crawford’ series, and Catriona McPherson’s ‘Dandy Gilver’ books.”
Library Journal

“Well-plotted and atmospheric...Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs.”
Literary Review