Nightshade (Hardcover)

A Livy Nash Mystery (LIVY NASH MYSTERY, A #2)

By M. L. Huie

Crooked Lane Books, 9781643854564, 320pp.

Publication Date: September 8, 2020

List Price: 26.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

M. L. Huie returns with the next Livy Nash historical mystery, perfect for fans of Susan Elia MacNeal's Maggie Hope series and Kate Quinn's The Alice Network.

How far would you go to rescue a friend?

British spy Livy Nash has never had many friends. But fellow agent Margot Dupont was the exception to the rule. At least, until she disappeared during one of their missions in World War Two, never to be heard from again. Since then, Livy's made do. Some people, you just can't replace.

But when the British pick up Margot's call sign--NIGHTSHADE--years after the war, Livy can't help the glimmer of hope that she might see her old friend again. But Livy has her doubts: what their enemies are using it to lure out Livy and her team? What if it's all a trick?

Despite her unease, Livy dives headlong into finding Margot, aided by her boss, the charming Ian Fleming. When evidence arises that a handsome Russian spy might have information about Margot, Livy agrees to her most dangerous mission yet: going undercover as a double agent to spy on the infamous "Red Devil".

As Livy is pulled deeper into the shadows of treachery, the possibility of finding Margot alive diminishes as the danger grows. How much will she have to sacrifice to find a friend she thought she'd lost forever?


About the Author

M. L. Huie is a writer, teacher and actor. In addition to working ten years as a features journalist he has written several plays that have been performed throughout the US and in the UK. Like Livy Nash he loves the northwest of England and has a Yank's appreciation for a good Lancashire Hot Pot.


Praise For Nightshade: A Livy Nash Mystery (LIVY NASH MYSTERY, A #2)

Praise for Nightshade:
“Plenty of spycraft and nonstop action, with a shocking ending that points to future adventures.”
Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Spitfire:
"An old-fashioned mystery shot through with tragedy; for aficionados of the glamour and romance of spycraft."
Kirkus Reviews
 
"[A] spirited debut and series launch...Vibrant characters, international intrigue, gritty action, and a wittily acerbic Ian Fleming, too—who could ask for more?"
Publishers Weekly, starred review

"This debut is more emotional than Fleming's own Bond novels...Nash is a welcome new protagonist who will be welcomed by fans of Kate Atkinson's Transcription (2018) and Simon Mawer's Tightrope (2015)."
Booklist

“A deftly penned and simply riveting read with more unexpected plot twists and turns than a Disneyland roller coaster.”
Midwest Book Review

“An auspicious debut.”
—Charlie Lovett, New York Times bestselling author of The Bookman’s Tale

"Huie writes with dry, cracking wit and unflinching heart." 
—Meghan Holloway, author of Once More Unto the Breach

“A riveting page-turner!” 
—Dianne Freeman, author of the award-winning Countess of Harleigh mystery series

"A twisting story of intrigue and betrayal . . . Livy Nash is exactly my kind of heroine."
—Julia Kelly, author of The Light Over London  

"A real page turner with fun historical flourishes, including an Ian Fleming cameo."
—Alisa Smith, author of the Lena Stillman series

"Meticulously researched with a twisty, compelling plot and a heroine that you root for from the first page, Spitfire combines all the elements of great historical fiction, I thoroughly enjoyed this story!” 
—Jane Healey, author of The Beantown Girls

“I look forward to the continuing series.” 
—Jeanne M. Dickson, author of Grounded Hearts