Skip to main content


Hope, Faith, and a Corpse

A Faith Chapel Mystery

Laura Jensen Walker

Hardcover

List Price: 26.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
MP3 CD (1/12/2021)
Compact Disc (1/12/2021)

Description

In the tradition of M. C. Beaton, Hope Taylor, pastor of a small-town California church, tries to find out who sent a church elder to Heaven.

Hope Taylor arrives in Apple Springs to start her new life as the first female pastor of Faith Chapel Episcopal Church. The northern California town's quaint cottages, bungalows, and shops promise a fresh start for the 42-year-old widow and Bogie, her scruffy black Labrador. But where is Father Christopher? The kindly old rector who hired Pastor Hope was supposed to meet her upon her arrival, but he's nowhere to be seen. Hope's faith springs eternal, so she explores the little white church hoping to find Father Christopher. But when she enters the columbarium, she instead finds church elder Stanley King--his skull crushed by a fallen burial urn.

Hope had made Stanley's acquaintance before, and had struggled to take a charitable view of his character. Stanley was as wicked as he was wealthy, as petty as he was pious. His soul may have been holy, but his behavior was wholly rotten. The last time Hope had seen him, he had shouted drunkenly that she would preach at Faith Chapel over his dead body.

Many of the townsfolk witnessed the altercation, so Hope finds herself as the prime suspect in Stanley's murder. With Bogie's four-footed assistance, Hope is determined to find the real killer and clear her name...even if it will require a bit of divine intervention.


Praise For Hope, Faith, and a Corpse: A Faith Chapel Mystery

Praise for Hope, Faith, and a Corpse:
“[A] warmhearted, humorous addition to the pantheon of clerical sleuths.”
Kirkus Reviews

"[A] pleasing series launch."
Publishers Weekly

"The author's humor engages, the twists and turns in the mystery intrigue...and the resolution will both surprise and satisfy any reader who loves a good cozy."
—Edith Maxwell, Agatha Award-winning author of the Quaker Midwife Mysteries

"Charming...Put the kettle on, cozy fans, and settle down for a treat."
—Catriona McPherson, award-winning author of Strangers at the Gate

“A charming addition to the ranks of clerical sleuths, Hope Taylor is wise, witty and thoroughly winsom...Balancing humor and suspense, with a cast of engaging characters, this perfectly pitched mystery is certain to intrigue and entertain.”
—C. C. Benison, author of the Father Christmas mysteries

“Laura Jensen Walker's Hope, Faith & a Corpse is a fun and charming adventure. Sister Lou and Pastor Hope could definitely be friends."
—Olivia Matthews, author of the Sister Lou Mysteries

Crooked Lane Books, 9781643855042

Publication Date: January 12, 2021



About the Author

Laura Jensen Walker has loved mysteries ever since she read Trixie Belden in the fourth grade in her Danish-founded hometown of Racine, Wisconsin--America's kringle capital. A former journalist and the author of several novels and humorous non-fiction books, including Murder Most Sweet and Thanks for the Mammogram! Laura is grateful to be a longtime breast cancer survivor. She lives in California with her Renaissance-man husband and their canine-daughter Mellie.