Skip to main content
Cover for Dolphin Girl 1

Dolphin Girl 1

Trouble in Pizza Paradise!

Zach Smith

Paperback

List Price: 12.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (10/13/2020)

Description

Dive into a hilarious new middle grade graphic novel series as superhero-in-training Dolphin Girl faces off against fearsome(ish) foes to save her Midwest suburban town. Perfect for fans of Zita the Space Girl and Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur.

In small-town Deerburbia, Michigan, young superhero Dolphin Girl and her dad, Captain Dewgong, are planning their tropical-themed restaurant, Pizza Paradise. But danger is never far away.

One day, while her dad is training her in signature moves (Blowhole cannon! Extreme breath holding!), they get word that their rivals are up to no good. It's time to swim into action!
 
But when Captain Dugong flakes on Dolphin Girl, she must summon her inner sea mammal and flip the situation. Recruiting Pizza Paradise's gamemaster Keith to help, it's time to sink the Sea Cow and save the day!

With a lot of silliness, spirit, and sea creature sass, Trouble in Pizza Paradise! introduces a new superhero sure to make a super splash!


Praise For Dolphin Girl 1: Trouble in Pizza Paradise!

"In his debut graphic novel, storyboard artist Smith brings to the page all the humor, quirk, and energy of an animated cartoon. The frenetic expressions of his bug-eyed, baby-toothed characters bring humor and movement to every panel, while Lacy’s pastel colors soften the eccentric comedy. Deerburbia (slogan, 'A Place to Live')—which gets the full-map treatment—lays a strong foundation of suburban absurdity, offering a literal world of possibilities for future adventures, which readers should be eager to jump into."Booklist


"Smith’s wacky illustrations and silly character antics will remind kids of their favorite cartoons. . . . A silly superhero romp and a fun addition to graphic novel collections."—School Library Journal


"Both underachievers and overachievers will be pleasantly bemused and amused in equal measure by this low-key adventure"—Kirkus Reviews

Pixel+Ink, 9781645950189, 144pp.

Publication Date: October 13, 2020



About the Author

ZACH SMITH is a storyboard artist who has done work for Netflix, WB Animation, and Nickelodeon. He currently does storyboards on Animaniacs at WB Animation, and works on a show that he created. Zach grew up in Michigan, but now lives in Southern California with his wife, kids, and dog. This is his first book for children.