Skip to main content


Race to the Bottom of the Earth (Digital Audiobook)

Surviving Antartica

By Rebecca E. F. Barone, Kate Mulligan (Narrator)

Publication Date: April 19, 2021

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (1/5/2021)
Paperback (1/24/2023)

Description

Equal parts adventure & STEM, this thrilling middle-grade nonfiction book chronicles two groundbreaking voyages to the South Pole.

In 1910, Captain Robert Scott prepared his crew for a trip that no one had ever completed: a journey to the South Pole. He vowed to get there any way he could, even if it meant looking death in the eye. Then, not long before he set out, another intrepid explorer, Roald Amundsen, set his sights on the same goal. Suddenly two teams were vying to be the first to make history—what was to be an expedition had become a perilous race.In 2018, Captain Louis Rudd readied himself for a similarly grueling task: the first solo crossing of treacherous Antarctica. But little did he know that athlete Colin O’Brady was training for the same trek—and he was determined to beat Louis to the finish line. For fans of Michael Tougias’ The Finest Hours and Deborah Heiligman’s Torpedoed, this gripping account of two history-making moments of exploration and competition is perfect for budding scientists, survivalists, and thrill seekers.



About the Author

Rebecca E. F. Barone holds degrees in mechanical engineering and English. Her technical engineering projects have included injury analysis for the National Football League, development of gait biometrics, and engine calibration of hybrid cars. Realizing her love for books in addition to numbers, she now describes the world with words rather than equations. Rebecca enjoys rock climbing, marathon running, and creating amazing (sometimes tasty!) messes with her husband, son, and daughter.