No Filter (Hardcover)

By Orlagh Collins

Bloomsbury USA Childrens, 9781681197241, 368pp.

Publication Date: March 6, 2018

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (3/3/2020)

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

This poignant, sweepingly romantic debut novel told in dual POVs is perfect for fans of Everything, Everything and All the Bright Places.

Anyone who follows Emerald on her social media accounts only sees a perfect life-her loving, wealthy family, tight-knit circle of friends, and devoted internet following. But the truth hides behind the scenes of her perfectly framed, filtered photos. . . Emerald's family is far from happy, and when she finds her mom unconscious on the bathroom floor, she can no longer keep it a secret.

Sent to stay with her grandmother in a small beach town while her mother recovers and her father works non-stop, Emerald fears the long, lonely summer ahead of her . . . until she meets Liam. He's an aspiring songwriter with his own baggage, but neither of them can deny their connection. With secrets and lies all that they're used to, can Emerald and Liam really fall for each other-brave and true-with no filter?

This fresh, funny, and poignant debut from Orlagh Collins is refreshingly grounded and sweepingly romantic all at once.



About the Author

Orlagh Collins grew up in the seaside village of Portmarnock in North County Dublin. She left Dublin to break into the film industry in London, working on high profile productions such as Calendar Girls, Ali G, and Separate Lies before taking over as Head of Physical Production at Pathé Films. Whilst at Pathé she supervised production on the Academy Award-winning movie The Queen and a host of others including Mrs Henderson Presents, Millions, and Enduring Love. In 2007, she co-produced the BIFA Award-winning documentary Joe Strummer: The Future is Unwritten and last year she began to develop comedy-drama Sidelined with the support of the Irish Film Board. Orlagh now lives in Somerset with her partner and their two children. No Filter is her first novel.


Praise For No Filter

"The realistic, respectful, and sweet relationship that develops is sure to appeal to romance fans . . . A satisfying and romantic debut." - Kirkus Reviews

"Both a coming-of-age story and a romance, this novel weaves together issues of suicide, poverty, unrequited dreams, betrayal, and bullying . . . An unpretentious and enjoyable tale set against the unique backdrop of the Northern Irish coast." - School Library Journal

"[Collins’] visual sense is evident." - VOYA