Close to Me (Hardcover)

By Amanda Reynolds

Quercus, 9781681440316, 384pp.

Publication Date: December 5, 2017

List Price: 26.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Jo Harding can't remember the last year of her life. And her husband wants to keep it that way.

"An immersive tale that's fueled by anxiety and dread." --Kirkus Reviews

"As good as it gets." --New York Journal of Books

"A perfect fit for fans of Judy Mercer and Nicci French." --Booklist

When Jo falls down the stairs at home, she wakes up in the hospital with partial amnesia. In fact, she finds that she's lost an entire year of memories, and she can't remember anything that happened the night she fell.

Her husband and her two children assure her that everything's fine, but Jo's family seems to have gone through a lot of dramatic changes in the past year, and she can't let go of the suspicion that there's more they're not telling her.

As she pieces together the details of the past twelve months, it becomes more and more clear that her family wants her to stay in the dark--but why?

Jo begins to wonder if she hasn't been as good a wife and mother as she might have hoped . . .


About the Author

Amanda Reynolds lives in the English countryside with her husband, two children, and two furry golden retrievers. Close To Me is her first novel.


Praise For Close to Me

"Head injuries are always bad news for domestic-suspense heroines. A perfect fit for fans of Judy Mercer and Nicci French."—Booklist

"Close To Me is a marvelous psychological drama on many levels: a parent coping with empty nest syndrome; a search for self-worth; the changing relationships between parents and grown children and between husbands and wives. For fans of suspense, especially suspense with a feminine perspective, Close To Me is as good as it gets."
New York Journal of Books


"Reynolds uses lush, evocative prose and a first-person, present-tense narration to create an immersive tale that's fueled by anxiety and dread. Chapters set in the present are interspersed with flashbacks, tension mounting as the story lines converge . . . Reynolds' structure is elegant and her plotting is precise."—Kirkus Reviews

"Gripping, claustrophobic, and often deeply unsettling, Close To Me exerts a magnetic pull from its first pages."—Kate Riordan, author of The Girl In The Photograph

"A gripping debut psychological drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty's The Husband's Secret, Clare Mackintosh's I Let You Go, and Linda Green's While My Eyes Were Closed."
Biblio Beth


"As each chapter marches towards the stormy climax, the family dynamics that led Jo and Rob to this time and place are parceled out bit by tantalizing bit. The flawed characters ring true, and sometimes are not so likable. Close To Me is English author Amanda Reynolds' debut novel. Based on this outing, she has a bright career ahead of her."
Mystery Scene Magazine