Skip to main content
Cover for Believarexic

Believarexic

J.J. Johnson

Paperback

List Price: 9.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (10/1/2015)

Description

A girl struggling with an eating disorder realizes that asking for help is only the first step.

Jennifer can't go on like this—binging, purging, starving, and all while trying to appear like she's got it all together. But when she finally confesses her secret to her parents and is hospitalized at the Samuel Tuke Center, her journey is only beginning.

As Jennifer progresses through her treatment, she learns to recognize her relationship with food, and friends, and family—and how each is healthy or unhealthy. She has to learn to trust herself and her own instincts, but that's easier than it sounds. She has to believe—after many years of being a believarexic.

Using her trademark dark humor and powerful emotion, J. J. Johnson tells an inspiring story based on her own experience when she was hospitalized for an eating disorder as a teenager. The innovative format using blank verse and prose, changes in tense and voice, and forms, workbooks, and journal entries mirror Jennifer's progress toward a healthy body and mind.


Praise For Believarexic

"The unique format and detailed portrayal. . . help readers feel as if they are on this journey with her. . . for the many who have been personally affected by eating disorders, it can offer hope."—School Library Journal

"A powerful story of healing and self-acceptance."—Kirkus Reviews

★ "Compelling and authentic, this story is impossible to put down. . . Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson's Wintergirls (2009), Believarexic is a raw, memorable reading experience."—Booklist, Starred Review

Peachtree, 9781682630075, 464pp.

Publication Date: September 5, 2017



About the Author

J. J. Johnson graduated from Binghamton University and worked an internship coordinator for programs such as The Learning Web and Youth Advocacy. She earned a Master of Education from Harvard University, with a concentration in Adolescent Risk and Prevention. Johnson lives in North Carolina.