Skip to main content
Cover for What I Like About Me

What I Like About Me

Jenna Guillaume

Hardcover

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (4/5/2021)
Paperback (4/6/2021)

Description

Plus-sized sixteen-year-old Maisie Martin never thought she had the figure to compete in a beauty pageant, but this vacation is about to change everything.
Maisie has spent most of her life hiding her body from everyone: her gorgeous best friend, her pageant-winning sister, and definitely her longtime crush. Never one to jump in the water, Maisie is planning on taking it easy while her friends chill at the beach.
But then her BFF starts flirting with the boy she's always loved, her older sister comes home and steals the spotlight, and Maisie has found herself pushed aside like usual. Except now, she's had enough. After forging new friendships, Maisie takes the deep dive and enters the local Miss Teen Queen. Now, with all eyes on her, can Maisie prove she has a place in the spotlight?
This contemporary young adult novel is as relatable as it is charming and Maisie's realistic journey towards confidence and self-love will draw readers in as she learns how to celebrate all of herself.


Praise For What I Like About Me

"Guillaume's delightful debut deals with teenagers and their self-esteem, as Maisie's story is relayed through her journal entries. This intimate lens will invest readers in Maisie's journey to self-acceptance and confidence. A fun story, abounding in humor, romance, and inspiration and filled with multifaceted characters that readers will enjoy." —Booklist

"Debut author Guillaume's novel features funny dialogue and fresh takes on body image and personal relationships as well as a plucky heroine who slowly but surely comes into her own. . . . Perfect for fans of Dumplin', a hilariously sweet yet complex romance." —Kirkus Reviews

"This book draws obvious parallels to Julie Murphy's Dumplin', but Maisie and her diverse cast of friends are fresh and distinctive, as is the Australian setting. . . . A fun, upbeat, and tender coming-of-age story written in an engaging and lively diary format."—School Library Journal

Peachtree, 9781682631607, 304pp.

Publication Date: April 7, 2020



About the Author

Jenna Guillaume was the editor-at-large for Buzz Feed Australia, where she wrote about very important things like pop culture, identity, feminism, social media, and Chris Hemsworth's biceps. Previously, she spent more than half a decade in the features department of Girlfriend magazine, editing the sealed section (yes, all those questions are real), and writing about everything from bullying and body image to bad kisses and boy bands. She was also a contributor to Girlfriend Life Hacks, an essential guide to navigating a girl's completely-awkward-but-totally-awesome teen years.