Asking for Truffle (A Southern Chocolate Shop Mystery #1) (Hardcover)

By Dorothy St. James

Crooked Lane Books, 9781683312918, 304pp.

Publication Date: September 12, 2017

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (2/13/2018)

List Price: 26.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

When Charity Penn receives a letter saying she won a trip to Camellia Beach, South Carolina complete with free cooking lessons at the town’s seaside chocolate shop, The Chocolate Box, she’s immediately skeptical. She never entered any contest. Her former prep school friend offers to look into the phony prize—only to end up drowned in a vat of chocolate.

Struck with guilt, Penn heads to the southern beach town to investigate why he was killed. But as wary as she is of the locals, she finds herself lured into their eccentric vibe, letting her defenses melt away and even learning the art of crafting delicious chocolates. That is, until delight turns bittersweet as she steps straight into the midst of a deadly plot to destroy the seaside town. Now, only Penn’s quick thinking and a mysterious cask of rare chocolate can save the town she’s learning to love.

Rich and decadent, Asking for Truffle, the first in a new cozy series by Dorothy St. James, is sure to be a delectable read for fans of JoAnna Carl and Joanne Fluke.


About the Author

Dorothy St. James is the author of the White House Gardener mystery series. For the past twenty years she made her home on Folly Beach, an artsy island community in South Carolina with her sculptor husband. Dorothy is a member of Mystery Writers of America (MWA) and the International Thriller Writers (ITW). This is her first Southern Chocolate Shop mystery.


Praise For Asking for Truffle (A Southern Chocolate Shop Mystery #1)

Praise for Asking for Truffle:
Compulsively readable...readers will cheer Penn every step of the way.”
Publishers Weekly

“The first in a new series for St. James features an appealingly reflective heroine and a varied roster of suspects.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Splendid...An easy reading cozy mystery that keeps you hooked from page one with delicious characters and a delightful story.”
Fresh Fiction

“All that’s enjoyable about a cozy mystery: quirkiness, danger, feisty pets, humor, and chocolate...An addictive mystery that keeps you up late reading.”
San Francisco Book Review

“I couldn’t put the book down...I highly recommend Asking for Truffle as your go-to book for a great September read.”
MyShelf

“Dorothy St. James has crafted a delicious concoction of murder and mayhem in her debut title Asking for Truffle. The spunky heroine, Penn, makes a refreshingly no nonsense amateur sleuth, working to discover who murdered her longtime friend while taking on the delicious task of learning how to make artisan chocolates with her adorable dog Stella at her side. I enjoyed every bite.”
—Jenn McKinlay, NYT and USA Today bestselling author of the Cupcake Bakery mysteries

"Asking for Truffle is a splendid twist on the cozy, offering a complex heroine, a coastal town full of secrets, and surprises around every corner. A heady delight for chocolate lovers and an enticing beginning to a new mystery series. I look forward to many more installments from St. James and her heroine, Penn."
—Bailey Cates, NYT bestselling author of the Magical Bakery mysteries

"Yum! Wear a bib when you read this one! The chocolate descriptions and the recipes will definitely have you drooling. An interesting heroine and a town filled with quirky characters, plus chocolate—what’s not to like? Dorothy St. James did a super job."
—JoAnna Carl, national bestselling author of the Chocoholic mysteries

"Asking for Truffle is a story as richly layered as the rare chocolate it features, with interesting and quirky characters readers will love, all wrapped in a lush setting that made me want to stake out a spot in town and stay there. Readers will definitely wish they could visit the Chocolate Box after reading this story."
—Jacklyn Brady, national bestselling author of the Piece of Cake mysteries

"An intriguing premise that will draw you in and keep you guessing, a spunky protagonist turned reluctant chocolatier, and the perfect blend of exotic chocolate makes St. James’s new series sure to satisfy your sweet tooth. The mystery of Penn’s past looms in this tightly plotted page-turner. Asking for Truffle will leave you hungry for a cup of creamy, rich hot chocolate and wanting to know what’s next for Penn and her new found family."
—Ellie Alexander, author of the Bakeshop mysteries