Skip to main content


The Devil's Claw

A Jennifer Dorey Mystery

Lara Dearman

Hardcover

List Price: 26.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (8/7/2018)

Description

Perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves and Elly Griffiths, a gripping, atmospheric debut that transports readers to the Channel Island of Guernsey, immersing them in the hunt for a killer whose secrets are rooted in the insular community’s own dark past.

I’m not afraid of the darkness...Only what it hides.


Finding a drowned woman’s body on the beach is the last thing journalist Jennifer Dorey’s fragile psyche needs. She left London for her island home of Guernsey, England, in the aftermath of a traumatic incident that shook her to her core. Now, as a local newspaper reporter, it’s Jennifer’s job to prove the woman’s death...but she uncovers something far bigger and more sinister than she ever could have imagined.

Jennifer enlists the help of DCI Michael Gilbert to investigate a pattern of similar deaths over the last fifty years. Though he’s looking forward to a comfortable—and imminent—retirement, Gilbert joins the journalist on a dark trail of island myths and folklore that leads to the door of a Nazi soldier’s illegitimate son. But as Jennifer gets closer to learning the killer’s identity—and his painstaking plans for mayhem—she falls ever deeper into his grasp.

Sinister deeds unravel in the darkness in The Devil’s Claw, Lara Dearman’s exhilarating debut novel.


Praise For The Devil's Claw: A Jennifer Dorey Mystery

Praise for The Devil’s Claw:
"Well-developed characters ensure that readers will want to see more of Jennifer and company."
Publishers Weekly

“A perfect novel for a cold night in dark winter.”
Foreword Reviews starred review

"Highly competent...and appealingly heartfelt."
Kirkus Reviews

“Satisfying...Readers who favor atmospheric British mysteries such as Peter May’s The Black House will enjoy this.”
Library Journal

“If you enjoy mysteries featuring serial killers, you’ll enjoy The Devil’s Claw...a strong entry from a debut author.”
Seattle Book Review

“An excellent sense of pacing...building toward an exciting climax...Excellent debut, Lara Dearman!”
Popular Culture Association

The Devil’s Claw is a great read and I absolutely loved it. I’ve never been to Guernsey but now feel like I know it!”
—Patricia Gibney, #1 Amazon Kindle bestselling author

"A powerful debut. With smooth prose and engaging characters, Dearman draws her readers into a tangled web of secrets. Layer upon layer of lies and unexpected connections will keep readers guessing until the very end."
—Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King’s Daughter

The Devil’s Claw is an atmospheric and gripping tale which intrigues throughout. The quality of the writing shines through.”
—Sarah Ward, author of A Patient Fury

"Atmospheric and tense. Superb!"
—Isabel Ashdown, author of Little Sister

“A dark, thrilling murder mystery in a richly-realised setting—the best debut I’ve read this year.”
—Mason Cross, author of Don’t Look For Me

"Dark, haunting and full of twists."
—Chris Whitaker, author of All the Wicked Girls

"A twisty thriller set in Guernsey and populated with great characters."
—Olivia Kiernan, author of Too Close to Breathe

"A gripping thriller set in Guernsey. I loved it!"
—Karen Hamilton, author of The Perfect Girlfriend

"Darkly atmospheric, nail-bitingly tense, intrigue-packed—a real crime fiction must read!"
—Stephanie Marland, author of My Little Eye

Crooked Lane Books, 9781683314561, 304pp.

Publication Date: January 9, 2018



About the Author

Lara Dearman was born and raised on the beautiful Channel Island of Guernsey. She moved to the UK to study International Relations and French at the University of Sussex, after which she endured a brief career in finance before giving it up to be a stay at home mum to her three children. Having moved from Guernsey to Brighton to London to Paris to Singapore and back to London over the last fifteen years, she has now settled in Westchester, New York with her family. The Devil’s Claw is her first novel and combines her love of Guernsey, myths and folklore with her obsession with crime fiction and serial killers.