No Cure for the Dead (Hardcover)

A Florence Nightingale Mystery

By Christine Trent

Crooked Lane Books, 9781683315445, 336pp.

Publication Date: May 8, 2018

List Price: 26.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

When a young nurse dies on her watch, Florence Nightingale must uncover the deep-hidden secrets someone will kill to keep buried.

It is 1853. Lady of the Lamp Florence Nightingale has just accepted the position of Superintendent of the Establishment for Gentlewomen During Temporary Illness in London. She has hardly had time to learn the names of the nurses in her charge when she suddenly finds one of them hanging in the Establishment's library. Her name was Nurse Bellamy.

Florence's mettle is tested by the dual goals of preserving what little reputation her hospital has and bringing Nurse Bellamy's killer to justice. Her efforts are met with upturned noses and wayward glances except for her close friend and advocate inside the House of Commons, Sidney Herbert. As Florence digs deeper, however, her attention turns to one of the hospital investors and suddenly, Sidney becomes reluctant to help.

With no one but herself to count on, Florence must now puzzle out what the death of an unknown, nondescript young nurse has to do with conspiracies lurking about at the highest levels of government before she's silenced too.

For fans of Anne Perry and Laurie R. King comes No Cure for the Dead, the rich and enthralling series debut from Christine Trent.


About the Author

In addition to the new Florence Nightingale mysteries, Christine Trent is the author of the Lady of Ashes historical mysteries, about a Victorian-era undertaker, as well as the author of three other historical novels. Christine's novels have been translated into Turkish, Polish, and Czech. She writes from her two-story home library, where she lives with her husband, five precocious cats, a large doll collection, entirely too many fountain pens, and over 4,000 catalogued books.