Santa Fe Mourning (Hardcover)

A Santa Fe Revival Mystery

By Amanda Allen

Crooked Lane Books, 9781683315476, 288pp.

Publication Date: March 13, 2018

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (11/13/2018)
Compact Disc (3/13/2018)
Compact Disc (3/13/2018)
MP3 CD (3/13/2018)

List Price: 26.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Brilliant new heroine Maddie Vaughn-Alwin makes her daring debut, discovering that speakeasies conceal more than just liquor.

Madeline Vaughn-Alwin’s picture-perfect life fades to gray when her childhood sweetheart perishes in the Great War. The aspiring painter leaves her wealthy New York family behind to travel across the country and start over in California. But when Maddie reaches Santa Fe, New Mexico, she halts her westward journey, certain she’s found her new home amid the striking scenery and inspiring artistic community.

To help out around her new adobe cottage, Maddie hires the Anayas, a local Native American family. But when the father is found murdered outside a speakeasy, the police brush off the death as just another inebriated man finding trouble. Shocked and distraught, Maddie takes on the case herself. But as she investigates, she learns that the Anayas’ home life was not what it seemed. And just as she’s starting to see the bigger picture, the autopsy reveals that her suspects’ alibis don’t hold up in Santa Fe Mourning, Amanda Allen’s richly evocative first Santa Fe Revival mystery, perfect for fans of Victoria Thompson and Rhys Bowen.


About the Author

Amanda Allen is the pseudonym for an award-winning, multi-published author. A history junkie since she first read Jane Eyre at age 10, she loves spending her days lost in other time periods. When not reading or writing, she loves yoga, dance classes, watching too much HGTV, and online shoe shopping. She is a member of Mystery Writers of America and Sisters in Crime, and she lives in Santa Fe, NM with her lovely husband, a spoiled dog, and bossy cat.


Praise For Santa Fe Mourning: A Santa Fe Revival Mystery

Praise for Santa Fe Mourning:
“Auspicious...Readers will want to see more of the appealing Maddie, whose next adventure is hinted at in the epilogue.”
Publishers Weekly

"Allen’s re-creation of 1920s language, dress, and clashing norms helps create an immersive whodunit, and Maddie is sure to become a beloved heroine."
Booklist

"A promising start to a new series."
Historical Novels Review

" Spoiled NY Flapper meets the Wild West—what could be more delightful?”
—Rhys Bowen, New York Times bestselling author of the Royal Spyness and Molly Murphy mysteries and #1 Kindle bestseller of In Farleigh Field

Engrossing...With evocative descriptions and captivating historical detail, Amanda Allen paints a vivid picture of post-WWI Santa Fe and weaves a mystery that is sure to keep you guessing until the end!”
—Ashley Weaver, author of the Edgar Finalist Murder at the Brightwell

“For fans of Miss Fisher’s Murder mysteries...A mystery with the tang of bootleg hooch and the sharp bite of poison.”
—Kate Parker, author of the Deadly Series and the Victorian Bookshop mysteries