The Shadow of Death (Hardcover)

A Sister Agatha and Father Selwyn Mystery

By Jane Willan

Crooked Lane Books, 9781683315568, 336pp.

Publication Date: April 10, 2018

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (9/11/2018)
Compact Disc (1/29/2019)
Paperback, Large Print (10/9/2019)
Compact Disc (1/29/2019)
MP3 CD (1/29/2019)

List Price: 26.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Perfect for fans of G. M. Malliet and M. C. Beaton, The Shadow of Death is divine entertainment from a talented debut writer.

A charming and clever traditional mystery debut set at a bucolic Welsh convent, The Shadow of Death introduces Sister Agatha, a mystery-loving nun who finds herself in the midst of a real-life murder case.


The sisters of Gwenafwy Abbey have cherished their contemplative life—days spent in prayer, reflection, tending the Convent’s vegetable gardens and making their award-winning organic cheese, Heavenly Gouda. Life seems perfect, except for Sister Agatha, a die-hard mystery fan who despairs of ever finding any real life inspiration for her own novel. That is, until the Abbey’s sexton is found dead under an avalanche of gouda. Despite the reservations of the local constable, Sister Agatha is convinced it’s murder and the game is afoot.

Armed only with the notes she’s scribbled during her favorite podcast, How to Write a Mystery Novel, as well as a lessons learned from crime heroes ranging from Hercule Poirot to Stephanie Plum, Sister Agatha leads the nuns of Gwenafwy Abbey (and her unwitting sidekick, Father Selwyn) as they begin a race against time to resolve the death of Jacob, save the Abbey, exonerate a beloved postulant, and restore the good name of their cheese.


About the Author

Jane Willan wants to live in a world where everyone has time to read their favorite books, drink good coffee and walk their dog on the beach, but until that can happen she enjoys life as a pastor and writer. When she’s not working on a sermon, or hiking with her husband, Don, you can find her re-reading Jane Eyre, binge-watching Downton Abbey and trying out new ways to avoid exercise. This is her first Sister Agatha and Father Selwyn mystery.


Praise For The Shadow of Death: A Sister Agatha and Father Selwyn Mystery

Praise for The Shadow of Death:
“Sprightly...The rich life and personalities of this religious community, coupled with Sister Agatha’s devotion to the sage advice of a retired inspector turned podcaster, guarantee reader impatience for the next installment.”
Publishers Weekly

"You’ll be rooting for Sister Agatha and Father Selwyn all the way in this delightful tale. And you won’t see the last twist coming."
—Catriona McPherson, bestselling and multi-award-winning author of A Most Misleading Habit

"A delightful cozy with a feisty heroine who heads off on a wing and a prayer to solve the mysterious death of the abbey’s sexton. Set against an enchanting Welsh backdrop, this charming cozy will have you glued to the page.”
—Peg Cochran, USA Today bestselling author

"In the tradition of the Father Brown and Grantchester mysteries, Sister Agatha demonstrates that a cloistered life is not without danger."
—Alice K. Boatwright, author of the award-winning Ellie Kent mysteries

"Pour yourself a nice cup of warm Glengettie tea and prepare to be immersed in this delicious and charming story about a feisty Anglican nun, a small Welsh convent and an accidental death...that might just be murder. Sister Agatha is sure to appeal to fans of that other great Agatha."
—Susan Breen, author of the Maggie Dove mystery series