The Confession (Hardcover)

By Jo Spain

Crooked Lane Books, 9781683316206, 288pp.

Publication Date: September 11, 2018

List Price: 26.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

You find out who did it on the very first page. On the last page, you'll find out why in this expertly plotted, "enthralling" (J. P. Delaney) psychological suspense novel from an internationally bestselling author.

Late one night a man walks into the luxurious home of disgraced banker Harry McNamara and his wife Julie. And when the man launches an unspeakably brutal attack on Harry, a horror-struck Julie, frozen by fear, watches her husband die.

Just one hour later, the attacker, J. P. Carney hands himself into the police and confesses to beating Harry to death. Except he also claims that the assault was not premeditated and that he didn't know the identity of his victim. With a man as notorious as Harry McNamara, who was just found innocent in a highly sensationalized fraud trial, the detectives cannot help but wonder: Was this really a random act of violence? Was Julie really powerless to stop JP? When Harry's many sins are unveiled to include corruption, greed, and betrayal, nothing is for sure.

This gripping psychological thriller will have you questioning, who--of Harry, Julie and JP--is really the guilty one? And is Carney's surrender driven by a guilty conscience or is his confession a calculated move in a deadly game? Brilliant and ice-pick sharp, The Confession is perfect for fans of B. A. Paris and Fiona Barton.


About the Author

Irish bestselling author Jo Spain lives in Dublin with her husband and their four young children. A former parliamentary assistant and vice-chair of business body InterTrade Ireland, Jo is now a full-time novelist and screenwriter.