A Hatful of Dragons (Hardcover)

And More Than 13.8 Billion Other Funny Poems

By Vikram Madan

Wordsong, 9781684371501, 64pp.

Publication Date: March 17, 2020

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Ideal for fans of Jack Prelutsky and Shel Silverstein, this collection of hilarious poems features delicious vocabulary and a wide range of subjects, as well as recurring characters and subplots in the art that weave the poems together and add to the merriment.

This funny poetry book is chockful of unusual characters: panda and pangolin musicians, mail-order eggs that hatch (surprise!) dinosaurs, ten aliens with a garden-gnome pal, a robot uncle, lots and lots of dragons, and a professor who uses his Page Machine to travel to multiple pages within the book. Vikram Madan's ingenious poems take many forms, from limerick to rebus to a fill-in-the-blank poem that offers more than 13.8 billion funny combinations. All feature clever wordplay, impeccable rhythm and rhyme, and riotous punchlines. This is a quirky collection of poems that readers will laugh their way through again and again.


About the Author

Vikram Madan grew up in India where, despite spending his childhood rhyming and doodling, he ended up an engineer. After many years of working in the tech industry, he finally came to his senses, and here he is, having followed his heart back to rhyming and doodling again! His self-published books of funny poems The Bubble Collector and Lord of the Bubbles both won Moonbeam Awards for Children’s Poetry. He lives near Seattle, Washington, with his family, two guitars, and a few pet peeves, and devotes himself to making whimsical and humorous art. Visit him at vikrammadan.com.


Praise For A Hatful of Dragons: And More Than 13.8 Billion Other Funny Poems

“The word that best describes this book rhymes with ‘bilarious.’” — Adam Rex, author-artist of Frankenstein Makes a Sandwich
 
 
“With rigorous rhythm and rollicking rhyme, Vikram Madan's A Hatful of Dragons delivers a vatful of laughs!” — Douglas Florian, author-artist of Friends and Foes: Poems About Us All