Skip to main content
Cover for They Drown Our Daughters

They Drown Our Daughters

Katrina Monroe

Paperback

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

For fans of Jennifer McMahon and Silvia Moreno-Garcia comes a haunting and atmospheric new novel from Katrina Monroe.

If you can hear the call of the water,

It's already far too late.

They say Cape Disappointment is haunted. That's why tourists used to flock there in droves. They'd visit the rocky shoreline under the old lighthouse's watchful eye and fish shells from the water as they pretended to spot dark shapes in the surf. Now the tourists are long gone, and when Meredith Strand and her young daughter return to Meredith's childhood home after an acrimonious split from her wife, the Cape seems more haunted by regret than any malevolent force.

But her mother, suffering from early stages of Alzheimer's, is convinced the ghost stories are real. Not only is there something in the water, but it's watching them. Waiting for them. Reaching out to Meredith's daughter the way it has to every woman in their line for generations—and if Meredith isn't careful, all three women, bound by blood and heartbreak, will be lost one by one to the ocean's mournful call.

Part modern gothic, part ghost story, They Drown Our Daughters explores the depths of motherhood, identity, and the lengths a woman will go to hold on to both.



Praise For They Drown Our Daughters

"Monroe has crafted an atmospheric debut that slips effortlessly between generations of mothers and daughters, exploring what it means to be cursed and haunted, and how far we'll go to protect the ones we love. They Drown Our Daughters is the best kind of story— one that will both break your heart and scare the hell out of you." — Jennifer McMahon, New York Times bestselling author of The Children on the Hill

"They Drown Our Daughters is a stunner. Beautifully written, deeply creepy, and carefully plotted—but above all, a fantastic meditation on what it means to be a parent." —Rob Hart, author of The Warehouse and The Paradox Hotel

"An atmospheric, absorbing, multi-generational novel which explores the way historical events can impact the present. I'm always fully on board for anything that shines a light on the intense and difficult bonds between mothers and daughters, so this hit the mark for me! I was at turns terrified by the air of ghostly myth and compelled by the excellent prose. A brilliant achievement!" —Melanie Golding, author of The Hidden

Poisoned Pen Press, 9781728248202, 384pp.

Publication Date: July 12, 2022