Skip to main content
Cover for When Life Was Still

When Life Was Still

Book One: Ellen

Julie A. Ryan


List Price: 16.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (4/14/2020)
Paperback (4/14/2020)


For those who care about the future of America, When Life Was Still provides thought-provoking fictional historical narratives. The trilogy is written for people who value the character and integrity of a nation. It is for those who recognize and resist abuse of power. This chronology of American families that begins with immigrants in a land of opportunity is for all who desire to give a better world to future generations.

The When Life Was Still trilogy is a fictional commentary from the past that alludes to current issues in American society. Woven with historical and mystical threads, multigenerational stories intertwine in this compelling family saga as Ellen, Greta, and Amy document harrowing odysseys experienced while pursuing their dreams. Despite political and religious barriers to possessing a voice that is heard and encounters with abuse of power, each woman is propelled toward her desired destination by reason and the ghost of a determined girl who helps move the world.

The first story of the trilogy follows Ellen Egan on her journey from nineteenth-century Ireland to rural southern Minnesota. Ellen records her adventure in a blank book while she endures hardships as an immigrant in a strange land, strives to help make America great for everyone, and searches for a woman she becomes acquainted with in one of her prophetic visions.

Julie A. \Ryan, 9781733194310, 272pp.

Publication Date: April 13, 2020