Skip to main content
Cover for Necessary Sins

Necessary Sins

Elizabeth Bell

Hardcover

List Price: 23.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (8/7/2019)

Description

In 19th-century Charleston, a Catholic priest grapples with his secret African ancestry and his love for a slaveholder's wife.


Joseph Lazare grows up believing his black hair and olive skin come from a Spanish grandmother, and he's shocked to learn she was an enslaved African. At thirteen, Joseph allows racial prejudice to limit his future and chooses the seminary. At twenty-three, he is ordained "a priest forever."


When he meets Tessa Conley, a devout Irish immigrant who shares his passions for music and botany, Joseph's ordered world cracks at its foundation. He must conceal his true feelings as Tessa marries another man-a plantation owner who treats her like property.


Acting on their love could ruin Joseph and Tessa in this world and damn them in the next. Can two broken people heal each other and find heaven on earth-or will there be hell to pay?


Necessary Sins is the first book in the epic Lazare Family Saga quartet. If you like character-rich dramas, vivid period detail, and heart-wrenching choices, then you'll be swept away by this page-turning series, perfect for fans of The Thorn Birds and Outlander.

Claire-Voie Books, 9781737037415, 490pp.

Publication Date: June 23, 2021