The Four Seasons of Lucy McKenzie (Paperback)

By Kirsty Murray

Allen & Unwin Australia, 9781743317020, 198pp.

Publication Date: June 1, 2014



A fascinating timeslip adventure set in a hidden valley where an 11-year-old girl travels across the river of time to fight fires, battle floodwaters, and discover the meaning of true friendship

Lucy can't wait for Christmas, especially as her big sister Claire is coming home from France to celebrate with her. But then the phone rings in the middle of the night and suddenly Lucy'smother is off to Paris, where Claire has had a bad accident. Lucy is horrified to find that she is to spend Christmas, and the summer holidays, with Great-Auntie Big in her isolated country house. As Christmas approaches Lucy has never felt so lonely until the night she discovers she can enter the magical floor-to-ceiling paintings of the four seasons that cover the dining room walls. On the other side of the paintings, Lucyfinds a world of adventure but can shesee the truth that lies behind the painted walls and bring hope to the future? Or will she risk losing the things that matter most before she realizes the power of the past and the love of the one person who understands the painted world?

About the Author

Kirsty Murray is an award winning author of nine novels for young people, including "India Dark," " The Secret Life of Maeve Lee Kwong," "Walking Home with Marie-Claire," and"Zarconi's Magic Flying Fish.""