Grave Secrets (Paperback)

The Lavington Windsor Mysteries Book 1

By Alice James

Solaris, 9781781088616, 300pp.

Publication Date: September 1, 2020

List Price: 11.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Agatha Raisin meets Sookie Stackhouse, with croquet and zombies.

"Fun, fast debut... Fans of Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse will want to check out Toni." -- Publishers Weekly

Toni Windsor is trying to live a quiet life in the green and pleasant county of Staffordshire. She'd love to finally master the rules of croquet, acquire a decent boyfriend and make some commission as an estate agent.

All that might have to wait, though, because there are zombies rising from their graves, vampires sneaking out of their coffins and a murder to solve.

And it's all made rather more complicated by the fact that she's the one raising all the zombies. Oh, and she's dating one of the vampires too. Really, what's a girl meant to do?

"Raises the zombie genre from the grave."- Jack Hayes

"Dead funny."- Mark Beech


“Perfect for fans of Charlaine Harris and Gail Carriger.” -- Library Journal

“If you enjoy stories about women who won’t take crap from anyone, vampires, zombies, and British humor then I highly recommend this book.” -- San Francisco Book Review

Readers are loving the newest necromancer in town. Read advance praise for Grave Secrets from NetGalley:

"Heads up to all fans of True Blood and Buffy, our new favourite heroine is here, she's a necromancer, and she's kind of a hot mess!"- NetGalley review

"A thrilling five-star read."- NetGalley review

"A fun filled, laugh out loud page turner."- NetGalley review


About the Author

Alice works as a writer, specialising in finance and travel. She is currently International Editor for Dante Magazine, who don’t seem to mind that all her columns are about getting lost in a different international destination, and Content Writer for the French business school EDHEC. She was previously a journalist and TV presenter for Bloomberg before becoming press and PR director of a $1 billion US hedge fund for 18 months. That turned out to be the worst period in history for hedge funds, so she retired wounded and decided that perhaps writing fantasy was a safer career. She has also worked as a project manager, creating business supplements for The Sunday Times, which involved more spreadsheets than she would like to see again. Ever. Alice has a degree in Maths from Bristol University – and half of a diploma in silversmithing from UCE University because it turns out that making the ladies’ version of the One Ring is a lot harder than she thought. She likes cats and ramen noodles and lives in a converted chapel in Oxfordshire because when people tell you that you will grow out of being a Goth, what they actually mean is that they’d like their black leather coat back now. She has written nine and a half novels; recently an interfering friend suggested that she should trying finding a publisher.


Praise For Grave Secrets: The Lavington Windsor Mysteries Book 1

“Alice James raises the zombie genre from the grave, dusts it off and gives it a brand new lease of life.”
— Jack Hayes

“What’s not to like? ‘Vampires and zombies’... it does what it says on the cover. Dress-shredding sexiness mixed with Thriller. Dead funny.”
— Author and rock journalist Mark Beech

"Fun, fast debut... Fans of Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse will want to check out Toni"
— Publishers Weekly

“Perfect for fans of Charlaine Harris and Gail Carriger.”
— Library Journal

“If you enjoy stories about women who won’t take crap from anyone, vampires, zombies, and British humor then I highly recommend this book.”
— San Francisco Book Review