Hot Lead, Cold Iron (Paperback)

A Mick Oberon Job Book 1

By Ari Marmell

Titan Books, 9781781168226, 400pp.

Publication Date: May 13, 2014

List Price: 14.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Hot Lead, Cold Iron is the first novel in a brand-new fantasy detective series that will appeal to fans of Rivers of London and The Dresden Files 


Chicago, 1932. Mick Oberon may look like just another private detective, but beneath the fedora and the overcoat, he's got pointy ears and he's packing a wand. 

Oberon's used to solving supernatural crimes, but the latest one's extra weird. A mobster's daughter was kidnapped sixteen years ago, replaced with a changeling, and Mick's been hired to find the real child. The trail's gone cold, but what there is leads Sideways, to the world of the Fae, where the Seelie Court rules. And Mick's not really welcome in the Seelie Court any more. He'll have to wade through Fae politics and mob power struggles to find the kidnapper – and of course it's the last person he expected.


About the Author

Ari Marmell is a fantasy and horror writer, with novels and short stories published through Spectra (Random House), Pyr, Wizards of the Coast, and others. He is the author of role-playing game materials for Dungeons & Dragons and the World of Darkness line, as well as the tie-in novel to the hit video game Darksiders. He lives in Austin, Texas with his wife, George.


Praise For Hot Lead, Cold Iron: A Mick Oberon Job Book 1

"An extremely entertaining historical/urban fantasy that I read quickly and eagerly." - SF Signal 

“A lot of fun, with a villain you’ll love to hate.” - Adventures Fantastic

"A mix of noir and fantasy elements is a stroke of fun and excitement from author Ari Marmell." - Retrenders

"Hot Lead Cold Iron is Ari Marmell’s most imaginative and strongest book so far in career. Give it a shot if you love to read lone-wolf PI stories or love historical crime mysteries or simply innovative urban fantasies. This one didn’t disappoint in the slightest." - Fantasy Book Critic

"For those looking to venture into a new cross-genre, Hot Lead is one series that has my recommendation." - Project Fandom

"Gives the hardboiled genre a truly magical revamp." - MuggleNet 

"Mick Oberon is a delight and by the time the book was over, I felt like I made a hilariously grumpy friend. It’s a lot of fun, and Marmell is an author I really want to hit it big. He deserves it, and this book shows a lot of his strengths." - Bookworm Blues

"This book opens with fists swinging, and barely pauses to take a breath." - My Bookish Ways

“The book does a nice job of never tipping its hand, with a climax that delivers on all aspects.” - Bookgasm

“The author leaves the door wide open for a sequel, and that’s just fine: the book is thoroughly entertaining, and Mick is a likable guy with whom we’d enjoy spending some more time. Urban-fantasy fans should be all over this one.” – Booklist starred review

"Gripping fantastical....engaging....the potent mix of gangsters, magic, Fae politics, and a strega on the warpath makes for a ride that never touches the brakes. Marmell expertly maximizes the thrills, leaving the reader with a lingering desire for a magic wand and a glass of warm milk."  ̶  Publishers Weekly starred review