Skip to main content
Cover for Anno Dracula 1999

Anno Dracula 1999


Kim Newman


List Price: 14.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.


The new novel in the acclaimed alternate history vampire series from Kim Newman.
"Compulsory reading... glorious" Neil Gaiman on Anno Dracula

It is the eve of the new millennium, and the vampire princess Christina Light is throwing a party in Daikaiju Plaza - a building in the shape of a giant mechanical dragon - in Tokyo, attended by the leaders of the worlds of technology, finance, culture and innovation.

After a century overshadowed by the malign presence of Dracula, Christina decrees the inauguration of an Age of Light. The world is connected as never before by technology, and conquests have been made in cyberspace that mark out new nations of the living and the undead.

But the party is crashed by less enlightened souls, intent on ensuring that the brave new world dies before it can come to fruition. The distinguished guests are held hostage by cyberpunk terrorists, yakuza assassins and Transylvanian mercenaries. Vampire schoolgirl Nezumi - sword-wielding agent of the Diogenes Club - finds herself alone, pitted against the world's deadliest creatures. Thrown out of the party, she must fight her way back up through a building that seems designed to destroy her in a thousand ways. Can Nezumi survive past midnight? Can the hopes of a shining world?

Praise For Anno Dracula 1999: Daikaiju

"Newman’s “Anno Dracula” series is one of the most media-literate, rampantly intertextual, exuberantly allusive compendiums of pop-cultural materials ever assembled."
-Los Angeles Review of Books

“Newman is the master of world-building and mash-ups, and he doesn’t disappoint in this new release” -

Titan Books, 9781785658860, 400pp.

Publication Date: October 22, 2019

About the Author

Kim Newman is a well known and respected author and movie critic. He writes regularly for Empire Magazine and contributes to The Guardian, The Times, Time Out and others. He makes frequent appearances on radio and TV. He has won the Bram Stoker, International Horror Guild, British Fantasy and British Science Fiction Awards and been nominated for the Hugo, World Fantasy, and James Herbert Awards.