Telegrams and Teacakes (Paperback)

A Heartbreaking World War Two Family Saga (Wartime Bakery #3)

By Amy Miller

Bookouture, 9781786815392, 202pp.

Publication Date: August 3, 2018

List Price: 9.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Telegrams and Teacakes is a romantic World War Two saga full of heartbreak and hope, perfect for fans of Diney Costeloe, Nadine Dorries and Sheila Newberry.

'There was no denying it, being cheerful was a challenge. You just had to be grateful for small mercies: a sunny day, a night without an air raid, an extra rasher of bacon from the butcher.'

England, 1942: 23-year-old Betty runs away from Bristol to make a new life for herself. Betrayed by her husband, Betty flees to the seaside town of Bournemouth, where she has fond memories of childhood holidays. There, she finds a small family bakery, in desperate need of a new shop girl...

At the Barton Bakery, Betty finds a sanctuary with shopkeeper Audrey Barton, but Audrey is fighting battles of her own. Her husband is at war and in grave danger, she is heavily pregnant, and her customers are horrified by the demands imposed by rationing.

Audrey's stepsister Lily receives a letter from a man she once loved very much, a man she thought was lost to her forever. He offers her a new future with him, but one that will mean sacrificing so many of her hopes and dreams...

As Winston Churchill tells the country to 'never give in', the women of the Barton Bakery struggle on to keep their families, homes and loved ones safe in a time of turmoil.