Furnace of This World (Paperback)

Or, 36 Observations about Goodness

By Ed Simon

Zero Books, 9781789041255, 120pp.

Publication Date: July 24, 2019

List Price: 14.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

In the tradition of Roland Barthes' Mythologies and Walter Benjamin's aphoristic Theses on the Philosophy of History, Ed Simon's Furnace of this World is a fragmentary, digressive, impressionistic account of what the radical implications of goodness could possibly be in late capitalism. "Furnace of this World" interrogates the concept of goodness, while arguing that it's always more interesting and radical than its opposite. With neither hubris nor reductionism, Furnace of this World speaks of what it means to pursue justice in a fallen world.


About the Author

Ed Simon is an Editor-at-Large with the Marginalia Review of Books, a Channel of the Los Angeles Review of Books. He is a regular contributor on the subjects of literature, religion, culture, and politics at many publications including The Atlantic, The Paris Review and Jacobin. He lives in Arlington, Massachusetts.