The Lights of Prague (Paperback)

By Nicole Jarvis

Titan Books, 9781789093940, 416pp.

Publication Date: September 22, 2020

List Price: 14.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

For readers of VE Schwab and The Witcher, science and magic clash in atmospheric gaslight-era Prague.

In the quiet streets of Prague all manner of otherworldly creatures lurk in the shadows. Unbeknownst to its citizens, their only hope against the tide of predators are the dauntless lamplighters - a secret elite of monster hunters whose light staves off the darkness each night. Domek Myska leads a life teeming with fraught encounters with the worst kind of evil: pijavica, bloodthirsty and soulless vampiric creatures. Despite this, Domek find solace in his moments spent in the company of his friend, the clever and beautiful Lady Ora Fischer - a widow with secrets of her own.

When Domek finds himself stalked by the spirit of the White Lady - a ghost who haunts the baroque halls of Prague castle - he stumbles across the sentient essence of a will-o'-the-wisp, a mischievous spirit known to lead lost travellers to their death, but who, once captured, are bound to serve the desires of their owners.

After discovering a conspiracy amongst the pijavica that could see them unleash terror on the daylight world, Domek finds himself in a race against those who aim to twist alchemical science for their own dangerous gain.


About the Author

Nicole Jarvis has been writing stories as long as she can remember. After graduating with degrees in English and Italian from Emory University, Nicole moved to New York City to pursue a career in publishing. She currently works in marketing at Bloomsbury Publishing and lives in Manhattan with two cats named after children's book characters. She loves listening to musicals, thinking about the inner lives of superheroes, and learning strange and delightful history. The Lights of Prague is her first novel.


Praise For The Lights of Prague

"Fantasy fans will gobble up this moody, philosophical adventure." - Publishers Weekly