Attempted Rapture (Paperback)

The Complete Trilogy

By L. M. Warren

Independently Published, 9781792848117, 808pp.

Publication Date: December 30, 2018

List Price: 35.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.


What is the difference between "following the heart" and coercing an innocent person into a life of sin?In Bible-Belt culture, sexuality and sin are pushed so closely together that children grow up fearing sexual urges, seeing opportunity as devil-sent temptation and a teenage marriage as the only cure. But what happens when Christian youth revolts? They lunge into depravity, angry at God, disillusioned with life, and full of evil intentions.Author L. M. Warren has created a tragic parody that explores the issue of Christian guilt and Church indoctrination with biting satire and heartbreaking pathos. Biblical allusions abound as a modern-day "Prodigal Son," Hal Persill, encounters incarnations of Proverbial "Lady Wisdom" and "Madam Folly" in two polar opposite sisters. This hard-edged Christian novel explores the issue of faith through the eyes of three characters, each one symbolizing a life stage of the Christian perspective. Hal Persill is the agnostic believer, a young man plagued by doubt and temptation, and who feels alienated from his rural hometown of "Radrick" after a long stay in New York. Amara Stallart is a preacher's daughter and a shining star of Christian loyalty that clings to her family ties and moral upbringing. Anne McNamary is an ex-Christian profligate and a notorious exile from the community who lurks somewhere in the big city. Whose faith will survive intact when certain destruction strikes?This hard-edged Christian novel explores the cataclysm that results when faith interferes with human desire, and in some cases, the double lives that people live in order to reconcile their beliefs.Attempted Rapture modernizes the parable of "The Prodigal Son" with an experimental mix of sexual poetry and prose, dark humor, sermonizing, and harsh stream of consciousness interior monologues.The end result is a provocative "new age" Christian novel that doesn't lecture, but allows readers to draw their own conclusions as to what faith is and what redemption ultimately means to a believer or non-believer.This book contains the entire series, including Attempted Rapture: The Saint, The Sinner, Cry on Cue, and Jaded Sapphira, the final book that jumps 30 years into the future.