Skip to main content
Cover for The Game of 100 Candles

The Game of 100 Candles

A Legend of the Five Rings Novel

Marie Brennan


List Price: 16.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Two samurai risk their hearts, souls, and their very existence to stop an occult phantom from destroying the world, in this stunning supernatural fantasy from Legend of the Five Rings

The demon-vanquishing samurai, Asako Sekken and Agasha no Isao Ryotora are summoned to Winter Court. Their exploits with the Spirit Realms have taken a toll on the pair and the cut and thrust of Rokugani politics proves challenging. After being urged to share their tales of adventure, the Winter Court guests begin to fall into a deep sleep from which they cannot wake. Fearing foul play, the Phoenix demand retribution, but Sekken and Ryotora uncover the hand of a supernatural trickster seeking entry to the mortal realm. The path to victory will risk their lives and the strange bond between them. But they must succeed, lest something awful escape into Rokugan.

Praise For The Game of 100 Candles: A Legend of the Five Rings Novel

"A delightfully engrossing read, one that goes in some unexpected directions, and puts the characters and their struggles at the fore of everything."
— Trans-Scribe

"I had a wonderful time jumping back again into the world of Rokugan"
— Tsuri Sparkles

"An entertaining and impactful read, that went far beyond its supernatural elements to create a very human, emotional story."
— Beneath a Thousand Skies, on The Night Parade of 100 Demons

"The fascinating and rather beautiful way that Marie has presented the culture and world of Rokugan drew me in and kept me turning the page."
— Big Geordie Geek, on The Night Parade of 100 Demons

Aconyte, 9781839082153, 352pp.

Publication Date: March 7, 2023

About the Author

MARIE BRENNAN is a former anthropologist and folklorist who shamelessly pillages her academic fields for inspiration. She recently misapplied her professors' hard work to The Night Parade of 100 Demons and the short novel Driftwood. She is the author of the Hugo Award-nominated Victorian adventure series The Memoirs of Lady Trent along with several other series, over seventy short stories, and the New Worlds series of worldbuilding guides; as half of M.A. Carrick, she has written the epic Rook and Rose trilogy, beginning with The Mask of Mirrors