The Persuaders (Paperback)

The Hidden Industry That Wants to Change Your Mind

By James Garvey

Icon Books, 9781848316607, 288pp.

Publication Date: June 14, 2016

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (3/7/2017)
MP3 CD (7/4/2017)

List Price: 22.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

In a philosophical polemic in the tradition of On Bullshit, James Garvey mourns the death of proper debate and reminds us of the value of rational argument. Philosopher James Garvey--described by the Guardian as having "a delicious style, often very funny, and a trick of ushering the reader right inside his thought experiments"--writes clearly and entertainingly about the dangers we face when we lose our grip on persuasion by rational means.

But The Persuaders isn't just a requiem for rationality. It's a call to think again about the way we think now.


About the Author

James Garvey works for the Royal Institute of Philosophy and edits "The Philosophers Magazine." He is author of a number of books, including "The Story of Philosophy" (with Jeremy Stangroom) and "The Ethics of Climate Change." He s written for the "Guardian, The Times Literary Supplement, the Huffington Post, the New Statesman, " and the "Times Higher Education Supplement, " does voluntary work for Thames Reach and Crisis, teaches jiu jitsu, and is an enthusiastic cyclist."