The Central Fells (Lakeland Fellranger) (Paperback)

By Mark Richards

Cicerone Press Limited, 9781852845407, 304pp.

Publication Date: May 15, 2009

List Price: 24.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Lakeland Fellranger guidebook covering 28 summits in the Central Fells of the Englisg Lake District, including a variety of ascents in the high ground between Great Langdale and Keswick. The area is flanked to the west by Stake Pass, Langstrath, Borrowdale and Derwentwater, and to the east by Grasmere, Dunmail Raise and Thirlmere.

Each of the 28 fells has a dedicated chapter describing a plethora of hiking routes of differing characters and difficulties (from wide bridleways up to easy scrambles), which can easily be combined to make ascents, descents, traverses or ridge routes. The chapter begins with a customised Harvey map that illustrates the routes, and shows ridge connections to neighbouring fells to assist in the planning of extended walks.

In many instances pen and ink drawn diagrams show the routes from a given perspective to assist visualisation. The guidebook is fully illustrated throughout with clear elevation diagrams, detailed summit panoramas and lots of inspiring photographs.
The Central Fells is part of the eight-volume Lakeland Fellranger series by Mark Richards. Together they provide a comprehensive guide to explore and enjoy the fells of the English Lake District, with a selection of routes up more than 220 hills.

About the Author

Mark Richards lives in Cumbria, on the fringe of the Lake District and has written a series of Fellranger guides covering the region, as well as Great Mountain Days in the Lake District. He has also written a guide to Hadrian's Wall, and several to the Peak District in England.