Skip to main content


The Woman Before Me (Cate Austin #1)

Ruth Dugdall

Paperback

List Price: 14.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (11/11/2014)
Hardcover (5/9/2013)

Description

THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

'Ruth Dugdall's novels are intelligent and gripping, with a sophisticated psychological sensibility. She is a huge talent.' Sophie Hannah

They came for me, just like I knew they would. Luke had been dead for just three days.

Rose Wilks' life is shattered when her newborn baby Joel is admitted to intensive care. Emma Hatcher has all that Rose lacks. Beauty. A loving husband. A healthy son. Until tragedy strikes and Rose is the only suspect.

Now, having spent nearly five years in prison in Ipswich, Rose is just weeks away from freedom. Her probation officer Cate must decide whether Rose is remorseful for her crime, or whether she remains a threat to society. As Cate is drawn in, she begins to doubt her own judgement.

Where is the line between love and obsession, can justice be served and, if so... by what means?

New Edition includes exclusive material and author Q&A

A clever, sophisticated, psychological crime thriller with dark twists you won’t see coming... Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah

What Reviewers and Readers Say:

'Dark, disturbing and authentic' CWA Judging Panel

'A chilling tale of betrayal and obsession … keeps its secrets well' Publishers Weekly

'Well-plotted … The author understands how to build suspense and create atmosphere' Kirkus

'Tense, taut, almost claustrophobic … full of emotion and suspense' The Bookbag

'Authentic … diverting debut' The Daily Mail

'A young British crime-writer who uses her career in the Probation Service to stunning effect … gripping and powerful' Mike Ripley, Shotsmag

'An absolute tour de force that left me thinking for days.' Alex Marwood

Legend Press, 9781909593619, 304pp.

Publication Date: October 31, 2013



About the Author

Ruth studied a BA (Hons) degree in English and Theatre Studies at Warwick University, and then an MA is Social Work at UEA. She worked as a Probation Officer for almost a decade, working in prisons with numerous high-risk criminals. Ruth's debut novel The Woman Before Me (Legend Press, 2010) was informed by her experiences. Ruth's professional background gives her writing authenticity and credibility. Ruth's second novel The Sacrificial Man was published in 2011.Ruth is the winner of the CWA Debut Dagger and the Luke Bitmead Bursary and has been longlisted for the New Angle Book Prize and People's Book Prize.Website www.ruthdugdall.com