Beyond The Moon (Paperback)

By Catherine Taylor

Cameo Press Ltd, 9781916093218, 494pp.

Publication Date: June 26, 2019

List Price: 19.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

*Shortlisted for the Eharmony/Orion Write Your Own Love Story Prize

"A poignant and stirring love story... Taylor's accomplished, genre-bending book succeeds as a historical novel and a beguiling, time-travel romance... The sharply written narrative deftly moves back and forth between the past and present." - Kirkus Reviews

What if love could last more than just one lifetime? A haunting and beautiful story of the Great War, time travel - and choosing the impossible

In 1916 1st Lieutenant Robert Lovett is a patient at Coldbrook Hall convalescent hospital in England. A gifted artist, he's been wounded in WW1. Shellshocked and suffering from hysterical blindness he can no longer see his own face, let alone paint, and life seems hopeless.

A century later in 2017, medical student Louisa Casson has just lost her beloved grandmother. She drowns her sorrows in alcohol - only to fall accidentally part-way down nearby cliffs. Doctors fear a suicide attempt, and Louisa is involuntarily admitted to Coldbrook Hall psychiatric hospital, an unfriendly, chaotic place.

Then while secretly exploring the hospital's ruined, abandoned wing, Louisa stumbles across a dark, old-fashioned room. Lying inside in the dark is a mysterious, sightless young man, who tells her he was hurt at the Battle of the Somme - a WW1 battle a century ago. And that his name is Lt Robert Lovett...

Part WW1 historical fiction, part timeslip - and at the same time a meditation on the themes of war, mental illness, identity and art - Beyond The Moon takes the reader on an unforgettable journey from twenty-first century England to the battlefields of First World War France. An intelligent historical love story perfect for book clubs.

For fans of Diana Gabaldon, Amy Harmon, Beatriz Williams, Kate Quinn, Kristin Hannah, Kate Morton, Susanna Kearsley and Paullina Simons.