Ghost Sick (Paperback)

By Emily Pohl-Weary

Tightrope Books, 9781926639826, 150pp.

Publication Date: December 4, 2014

Advertisement

Description

Winner:
2016 Fred Cogswell Award for Excellence in Poetry
After a Christmas Eve shooting that devastated author Emily Pohl-Weary's family, she began to hunt through the sorrow and trauma for a sense of hopefulness. In the tradition of Carolyn Forche, Ernesto Cardenal, and Shu Ting, Ghost Sicknessis a poetry of witness. It chronicles the impact of violence and poverty on an inner-city Toronto neighborhood, the power of empathy, and the resilience of the human spirit.


About the Author

Emily Pohl-Weary is an award-winning author, editor, arts educator, and academic. She is the author of several books, including the novels A Girl Like Sugar and Strange Times at Western High; the young adult novel Not Your Ordinary Wolf Girl; the poetry collection Iron-on Constellations; and the biography Better to Have Loved: The Life of Judith Merril, which won a Hugo Award for Best Related Book.
Advertisement